Cindy's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Superb! Made for T-giving and everyone kept saying how light and creamy the pie was. Not a bite was leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This recipe lacked EVERYTHING. I used fresh pumpkin. The only review's I got from 20+ dinner guests was that they could not taste the pumpkin, and they could not taste any seasoning. I personally thought it tasted of nothing but egg. I had to use regular vanilla ice cream as it had to be lactose free, so was not able to experiment that way as some had done, but that should not have made that big of a difference. I will try this recipe again using canned pumpkin, fewer eggs, more spices and add some vanilla and brown sugar, as well as possibly some pumpkin extract if needed... overall, I was greatly disappointed with this recipe and wonder why it gets such rave reviews. If the 2nd time doesn't turn out, this recipe will NOT be added into my holiday recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Loved this pie easy to make. I read the reviews and some of them said that the pie didn't have enough pumpkin flavor so instead of using all vanilla ice cream I used 1 pint vanilla and half a pint of pumpkin ice cream completely melted and put into a graham cracker crust. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is my favorite pumpkin pie. There are some tips to follow for success. -add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract to the pie mixture. -warm the french vanilla ice cream (microwave) once its at room temperature -room temperature eggs (i drop them in warm water before i crack them) -hand wisk mixture until most of the vanilla froth is more pumpkin color -once the mixture is poured in foil the edges so the crust doesn't burn My family voted that this recipe as our official thanksgiving pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this pie with great fear about the results, but didn't have any evaporated milk (or even whole milk) ... but I did have some carmel swirl ice cream. I only needed one pie, so after reading the reviews, I ended up with this: 1 15oz can pumpkin puree, 2 eggs, 1-1/2 cups melted carmel swirl ice cream, 2 tsps cinnamon, 1/2 tsp fresh ground nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp Chinese 5-spice powder (didn't have any cloves, allspice or pumpkin pie spice), 1/4 cup packed brown sugar, 1 frozen pie shell. I blind-baked the pie shell, covering edges with foil. Mixed the sugar and eggs, mixed in pumpkin, mixed in spices, added melted ice cream last. Baked at 425 for 15 minutes, then 350 for about 45 minutes longer ... until knife came out clean. Much to my surprise, it turned out absolutely terrific! Everyone raved about it. I wouldn't have done it without this recipe for inspiration. Thanks so much for saving the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This was super easy and tasted wonderful! I made it for Thanksgiving and we polished off both of them. The next day I made 2 more pies to go with our leftovers. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
i liked that the texture was more light than some other heavier pumpkin pies. it was sweet and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
this was the 1st time i attempted to make pumpkin pie and wow...this was awesome! i planned on giving one to my gf's family for thanksgiving but ended up keeping both. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terese The Novelist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by Kat-tastic
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was delicious! I used french vanilla ice cream and melted it in the microwave before mixing and it turned out great. Since I made two pies I stirred one, and left the other alone to see if it made a difference-- DO NOT STIR! If you melt the ice cream and mix it thoroughly, stirring will only mess up your pie. The one I left untouched turned out perfect, no separation at all. The slight changes I made were: 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar, and I used 1/2 tsp. pumpkin spice (in addition to the 1 tsp cinnamon) instead of the ginger and nutmeg. I used two store bought pie shells, though next time I'll be making my own, those were too bland. Be sure to cover your pie in tinfoil and it will turn out great! Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat-tastic
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This pie turned out really great. I was really inprecise when making it, too. I added a little under half of a 1.75 Quart tub of vanilla ice cream. Then I proceeded to use all of the filling in one pie because my pie dish was deep. I baked it for an extra 20 minutes than the recipe called for, but when it was all said and done, it was DELICIOUS! It really must be pretty foolproof. I have nothing but compliments on it this Thanksgiving. The crust was perfectly flaky and the filling was sweet and pumpkiny without that slimy texture some pumpkin pies get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States