Cindy's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
HELP! I made this recipe two days ago. I followed everything to a "T". When I poured the mixture into the pie shells- they only filled up half way. I had a torte... not pumpkin pies. I did use 3 cups of ice cream- I went online to look at a pint to cup ratio. I'm not sure what I did wrong. I took the eggs straight from the frig- they were not at room temperature. The ice cream was melted in the microwave... did any of the above hinder the recipe? The "tortes" do taste good... but I would like to make this the correct way next time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
THANK YOU for this recipe!!! I just followed all of Headmeister's additional directions and it turned out beautifully. My dad is lactose intolerant, and they make lactose-free vanilla ice cream but not lactose-free evaporated milk (so far as I know). I made this last Thanksgiving, and it was the first pumpkin pie he'd eaten in fifteen years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I just made this yesterday for Thanksgiving and it was spectacular! It's the pumpkin pie recipe I've been waiting for. The vanilla ice cream makes a HUGE difference than using either condensed or evaporated milk. HUGE. Plus, I went a step further and used Hagen Das (yum!) for the extra richness. From now on, this will be my go-to pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Why buy pumpkin pie when you can make this? Such an easy pie to make and so delicious. I followed some other reviewers' recommendations: I melted the ice cream in the microwave until WARM. I used room temp eggs and I forgot to de-thaw the frozen pie crusts (took a short cut and chose not to make home-made crusts) so I put the crusts in the pre-heated oven for a couple minutes to quickly de-thaw them. Be careful they don't start baking if you do this though. :-) I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I don't think I added enough nutmeg or maybe I just like a little more nutmeg flavor in my pumpkin pie. I will probably increase the amount of nutmeg next time. All in all, delicious. My family enjoyed it and I think this will be a new tradition for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This Thanksgiving, I made my very first pie. I've always been pretty terrified of making a pie from scatch (I'm a bit of a novice in cooking), but this year I decided to bite the bullet and go for it. I am so very glad I did! This pie came out superbly. I can't believe that it came out of my kitchen! :-) It was light, fluffy and absolutely delicious. Almost like a pumpkin mousse, if you will. Here are some noteworthy mentions: 1) I used a 1/4 measuring cup for the sugar, and put 3 rounded cups in the mix. Not too sweet, not too tart. Perfect! 2) I used Marie Calendar's pre-made deep shell pie shells, so instead of two pies, the batter filled one (and a half). If you use a similar crust, you may have left-over batter, but not quite enough for two pies. 3) I used about 14 ounces of Breyers Frecn Vanilla Bean Ice cream. As other viewers stated, I warmed it in the microwave and saw no seperation. 4) I used 2 tablespoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice, and it was the perfect amount. 5) Don't forget to cover your crust with aluminum foil after the first 15 minutes. While covering the crust sounds easier than it is, it's well worth it; the crust was perfect done. If you, like me, are considering making a pie for the first time, don't hesitate to try this recipe. It came out so good, it has given me confidence to try other recipes. I may make another one and take it to work to make my co-workers think I'm the next Martha Stewart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have baked these every Thanksgiving since 2004. They are a hit every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe if you are looking to impress your guests. A few suggestions, though. If you are going to use fresh pumpkin puree (like I did), use the smaller pie pumpkins instead. Because of the ice cream and the natural puree, the pie comes out pale in color making it look less than appealing. Also, double the spices and add 1/2 tsp of clove for a stronger taste. I also split the sugar between brown and white for a more moist product. And don't use store bought crust, its too thin for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've been using this recipe for about 5yrs and my non-pie eaters and pie eaters LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I used this recipe last year and it was excellent! My only complaint was the lack of cloves. The good thing? People that don't usually like pumpkin pie liked it without the clove. But was a little mild for those that like it more spicy. This year I am going to try adding 1/4 tsp of clove to this recipe and see how it turns out. Otherwise, I absolutely loved this one. The melted vanilla ice cream adds a unique AND AWESOME taste and texture. I can't wait to try it with a little more zip with the cloves :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Excellent! I was confused on how long to cook after the initial 15 minutes. I was going to leave in for 1 hr as another review suggested, but I checked it at around 40 minutes (after the initial 15) and it was DONE. Maybe a tad overdone, as it was very dark brown near the crust, but didn't affect the taste at all. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States