Cindy's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I used pumpkin ice cream even and wow it was great! The texture is more of a pumpkin mouse... then of the tradictional pumpkin pie. Saw friends three days later and they told me yet again how much they liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This pie is totally awesome. My family swears they don't like like pumpkin pie.....Then they taste this. Disappears every time. it's so light and fluffy not heavy like regular pumpkin pies. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
HELP! I made this recipe two days ago. I followed everything to a "T". When I poured the mixture into the pie shells- they only filled up half way. I had a torte... not pumpkin pies. I did use 3 cups of ice cream- I went online to look at a pint to cup ratio. I'm not sure what I did wrong. I took the eggs straight from the frig- they were not at room temperature. The ice cream was melted in the microwave... did any of the above hinder the recipe? The "tortes" do taste good... but I would like to make this the correct way next time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
THANK YOU for this recipe!!! I just followed all of Headmeister's additional directions and it turned out beautifully. My dad is lactose intolerant, and they make lactose-free vanilla ice cream but not lactose-free evaporated milk (so far as I know). I made this last Thanksgiving, and it was the first pumpkin pie he'd eaten in fifteen years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I just made this yesterday for Thanksgiving and it was spectacular! It's the pumpkin pie recipe I've been waiting for. The vanilla ice cream makes a HUGE difference than using either condensed or evaporated milk. HUGE. Plus, I went a step further and used Hagen Das (yum!) for the extra richness. From now on, this will be my go-to pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Why buy pumpkin pie when you can make this? Such an easy pie to make and so delicious. I followed some other reviewers' recommendations: I melted the ice cream in the microwave until WARM. I used room temp eggs and I forgot to de-thaw the frozen pie crusts (took a short cut and chose not to make home-made crusts) so I put the crusts in the pre-heated oven for a couple minutes to quickly de-thaw them. Be careful they don't start baking if you do this though. :-) I added about a teaspoon of vanilla and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. I don't think I added enough nutmeg or maybe I just like a little more nutmeg flavor in my pumpkin pie. I will probably increase the amount of nutmeg next time. All in all, delicious. My family enjoyed it and I think this will be a new tradition for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLENE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This Thanksgiving, I made my very first pie. I've always been pretty terrified of making a pie from scatch (I'm a bit of a novice in cooking), but this year I decided to bite the bullet and go for it. I am so very glad I did! This pie came out superbly. I can't believe that it came out of my kitchen! :-) It was light, fluffy and absolutely delicious. Almost like a pumpkin mousse, if you will. Here are some noteworthy mentions: 1) I used a 1/4 measuring cup for the sugar, and put 3 rounded cups in the mix. Not too sweet, not too tart. Perfect! 2) I used Marie Calendar's pre-made deep shell pie shells, so instead of two pies, the batter filled one (and a half). If you use a similar crust, you may have left-over batter, but not quite enough for two pies. 3) I used about 14 ounces of Breyers Frecn Vanilla Bean Ice cream. As other viewers stated, I warmed it in the microwave and saw no seperation. 4) I used 2 tablespoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice, and it was the perfect amount. 5) Don't forget to cover your crust with aluminum foil after the first 15 minutes. While covering the crust sounds easier than it is, it's well worth it; the crust was perfect done. If you, like me, are considering making a pie for the first time, don't hesitate to try this recipe. It came out so good, it has given me confidence to try other recipes. I may make another one and take it to work to make my co-workers think I'm the next Martha Stewart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I have baked these every Thanksgiving since 2004. They are a hit every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe if you are looking to impress your guests. A few suggestions, though. If you are going to use fresh pumpkin puree (like I did), use the smaller pie pumpkins instead. Because of the ice cream and the natural puree, the pie comes out pale in color making it look less than appealing. Also, double the spices and add 1/2 tsp of clove for a stronger taste. I also split the sugar between brown and white for a more moist product. And don't use store bought crust, its too thin for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I've been using this recipe for about 5yrs and my non-pie eaters and pie eaters LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States