Cindy's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly only substituting the vanilla ice cream for butter pecan. I melted my ice cream in the microwave then whisked everything together until smooth with a hand mixer. I also used store bought pie crusts. I did not have a problem with the filling separating. It tasted great! My husband and I nearly finished two pies in three days. btw, don't forget to cover your crusts after the first 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myla

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever made! The only adjustment I made was that I didn't have ginger, so instead of 3 separate spices, I used 1/2 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. To prevent my crust from burning, I put the foil on before sticking it in the oven and removed it about 15 minutes before it was done to give it a golden crust. After the first time, I figured out it was easier to put foil on when it was cool instead of the last half hour of baking when it was already hot. The only mistake I made on this recipe was cutting it in half to make only one pie! There is only 3 people in my house and it only lasted about 12 hours. I am baking my second one right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Cindy Anne's recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I've been making this recipe every Thanksgiving since I found it in 2005. It's super easy to make and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
the pie did not have a nice texture and the flavor was lacking.i love the ice cream idea but it just didnt work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was the first pumpkin pie I ever made and the only one my kids will eat !This is the best pumpkin pie, creamy and delicous ! Easy to make too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I have been using this recipe for 4 years now with absolute success!! I've changed the crust over time and have come up with the perfect pie! Year One - Graham Cracker crust = pretty good Year 2 - followed recipe crust = better Year 3 & 4 - melt one stick of butter, mix with plain yellow cake mix - line bottom of casserole dish pour filling for 2 pies over the one dish = NO LEFT OVERS!!! Cover with cool whip and dust with cinnamon yuuuummmmyyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've been asked for this recipe everywhere I've brought this pie. Thanks Cindy! Also, I make it with graham cracker crust... It's fantastic that way. I've had a little trouble filling two pie crusts, so I tend to add a little extra pumpkin and a little extra ice cream. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Like past reviewers, I too have made this pie years ago. I have made many differant pies by using all the differant flavors of Ice cream. Canned pumpkin works great and the best flavor I have found to be is Butter Pecan. I made for a contest and it won 1st place. For the chocolate nut lovers out here, Rocky Road comes fast in seconed. And for White Chocoloate lovers, Melt some down and mix it in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was the best pumpkin pie I've ever had! My mom was incredibly jealous that I didn't use her recipe for Thanksgiving and I'm glad I didn't because this was awesome. I took the suggestions of making sure the ice cream was completely melted and I didn't have any trouble with separation at all. I did have to bake it for much longer after tenting it, though. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States