Cindy's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This is the first time I've ever made a pumpkin pie from scratch. Making the puree was really easy. The pie tasted wonderful. I warmed the ice cream to room temperature (as other people had suggested) and had no problems. I have enough puree left over to make a few pies for thanksgiving. I'm sure they'll be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanja Suic
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This pie is really delicious. I made it from the fresh pie, followed the instructions carefuly and it turned out fantastic. My friends and family loved it, it's the best pumpkin pie I ever tried. Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanja Suic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
The pie turned out great! It was a big hit and everyone wanted to know why this turned out so great. I have already made two this week! I did read the reviews, and melted the ice cream and mixed it together well...baking time was very consistent with the recipe. I did not have to stir it in the middle of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
AMAZING! Given the award as the Best Pumpkin Pie EVER by my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Made this using the butter pecan icecream and it turned out amazing! Next time i plan to use a sugarfree sweetener and a little more pumpkin. I also used "pumpkin pie spice" along with the cin. Cannot wait to make it for my family at Thanksgiving! **10/12/09 i have made this several times in the past year and have found that it tastes best with fresh pumpkin (I bake it then make it into puree). You will be amazed at how much better it makes an already great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
very nice, ice cream great idea, made it nice and creamy. gone in 5 mins. of course...i added more nutmeg and cin. (1/4 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenrocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I am not a pumpkin pie fan, but this didnt have a strong pumpkin pie taste. so if you want a traditional taste, dont do this recipe! but if you want something a little different, definitely try it. i used a pumpkin spice and cinnamon for flavor, i think next time i will add more. i also used a graham cracker crust and will DEFINITLY NOT use this again and use a regular pie crust. i used french vanilla ice cream for it. turned out good, just melt the ice cream all the way in the microwave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
What a hit! My fam loved it so much I had to triple the recipe! (Not to mention I'm expecting a baby and the Holydays are just around the corner. I need to be prepared!) I baked 4 fresh little pie pumpkins, removed the pulp and pureed it with the egg and spice mixture, less the ice cream, using a food processor. Used 3/4 Tbsp fresh ginger instead of ground ginger. Let that mixture sit overnight so all the flavors could marry. Warmed one full tub and one half tub of 1.5qt vanilla ice cream. Immediately mixed warm ice cream with pumpkin/spice/egg mixture that had been marinating overnight. Poured into pie shells just below the crust and baked 3 pies for one hour. Did that twice, making 6 pies, b/c I tripled the recipe. Pie filling rose 1cm during bake. I used other reviewers suggestions by covering the crust prior to baking. (Never knew that secret, ...thanks!!) No need to uncover the crust for the last 15min of bake time, it came out perfect! Left two out to eat and froze the remaining four for Thanksgiving and Christmas. The two pies were gone in two days between the hubs, our 2 daughters, and of course, myself!!! The ice cream sets this recipe off. I always use fresh pumpkins, there is just no comparison to me. And I love fresh ginger. Brings a freshness to the pie that cannot be duplicated with ground. Next time I might try cinnamon ice cream, as another revier suggested. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This pumpkin pie was way too sweet and had very little pumpkin flavor. The texture was ok but the taste was nothing like traditional pumpkin pie. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My first attempt at homemade pumpkin pie, it was a huge success!!!!! My picky 4 year olds ate it up, definitly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States