Cindy's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I would like one thing. Saute the rice till it turns white. then add wet stuff. THis will make the rice grain for grain. I am from New Orleans and this is how i was taught. Other wise. Right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Shivers
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I can't believe I've been published again! This really is a fantastic recipe for such an easy one! Like I said in the little blurb, you can add just about anything you want, even leftover rotisserie chicken. It will be the best meal you've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is a great recipe missing only the main ingredient, Sliced OKRA. Needs at least a cup of okra, medium pods slice about 1/4 in thick. Still it is so good I will give 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I had some challenges for our dinner tonight. I’m in Naples now but I’m going home in another day, so I wanted to come up with something using ingredients I already had. I didn’t want to go to the store for MORE stuff, nor did I want anything wasted. Also, I’ve got limitations, because of Hubs’ sensitive innards, with heat and spice, both of which I generally have to eliminate. With a little research it became apparent that jambalaya, which I’ve never had before, was the way to go. I came across a lot of good recipes for it, but none so simple, so straightforward, so uncomplicated, as Cindy’s. Some reviewers commented her recipe was a little weak on spice – first, that’s a GOOD thing for Hubs' innards and, second, that’s easy enough to fix, right? If you want more spice, add more spice! I decided on this recipe but knew I would make a couple of small changes – I would cook the rice separately, only because I make every attempt to limit the amount of starch I consume. And I used fresh, chopped, red-ripe tomatoes instead of canned. This was, in a word, delicious. Hubs, SO stingy with 5-star ratings, gave this an immediate 5. Weak spice? Maybe a little – but Hubs just sprinkled a little extra Zatarain’s Creole Seasoning on his serving to his liking. I thought it was just right. When you’ve got great flavor, you don’t need to drown a dish in spices and/or “heat.” Except for family favorites I don’t often make the same dish twice. This one will be an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I made 1 change to this. I used Quinoa instead of Rice. I also added some chicken. This was GREAT! I will be making this again. Thanks Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I really enjoyed this jambalaya. I used converted white rice like Uncle Bens. Converted rice holds it's shape and texture in rice recipes and casseroles. Bighunk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Great and easy! I looked at several other jambalaya recipes from this site but chose this one because it had the fewest steps....no taking meat out and putting it back in. I used a ginger chicken broth I had leftover from making chicken salad the other day, and it added a nice layer to the jambalaya (the ginger was very subtle). I meant to add a bit of chicken base to the broth since it was homemade and unseasoned, but I forgot so had to add more salt to the finished product than I would have liked. I will definitely make again using a well seasoned broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Excellent recipe! Good with the cajun seasoning mix from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Illinois, USA
Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
We thought this was fabulous! Gotta love the one pot supper - less dishes :) If you're adding shrimp, make sure rice is almost done before adding. I threw mine in too early and the overcooked the shrimp. Oh well - didn't ruin the dish. I will certainly be making this again - thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Delicious!!! I didn't change a thing and this recipe was wonderful. We served with corn bread. I will say that this recipe doesn't quite make 8 servings. Maybe because our servings were "healthy" we got only 4 out of it. If I were to make this for a crowd, which I am considering, I would double the recipe. Thank you Cindy for such a great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States