Cindy's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent and super easy! I'm not a big fan of making rice so anytime I can incorporate it into a dish that's great! I was in a super rush - I used fully cooked andouille sausage and fully cooked southwestern style chicken strips. Added chicken at the end just to heat through. You would never know the sausage wasn't simmering all day. Phenomenal - I also did not use the green pepper as my family is not a big fan of green peppers. Shrimp was frozen - so next time I'll skip the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Love this recipe, has great flavor, but I did increase the Cajun seasoning for a bit more of a bite and I have used both white rice and wild grain rice. I recommend this recipe to my friends a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Have made twice now and was a big hit both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deerfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Easy to prepare and nice flavor! I would reduce rice next time, as it was more than I would've liked... I brought the cajun seasoning to the table and I added more to my dish, but my bf thought it was just fine the way it was prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Excellent. Didn't change a thing. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very easy to make. I added more spices to make it spicy. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Congrats to Cindy...this is an AWESOME recipe!!! I used jumbo (10-15 count) brown shrimp -- which are sweeter, according to the butcher -- and andouille sausage. Doubled the recipe and shared with my neighbors...it was a total hit! My butcher even requested a copy of the recipe. I am making this recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
LOVE the recipe as a basic jambalaya recipe to start getting creative from but wanted to make this with sweet potatoes instead of shrimp (way cheaper) and put the sausage on top, not in the mix. Here are the changes I made: - I also added 1/2 cup extra rice as someone mentioned and added an additional cup and half of chicken broth. I wish I would have added another can of diced tomatoes and will do that next time whether I add the extra rice and broth or not. - I doubled the spices having read that the recipe as written was too mild for many. It was just right and not too spicy for crowd of 8. We had leftovers as the extra rice probably wasn't necessary. But yay for leftovers! - I added 2 pounds (2 large) sweet potatoes- peeled and cubed in 1/2 to 3/4 inch squares when I added the broth. The 20 minutes was just enough for them to cook to perfect firmness. - I pan fried 13 oz (2 large) Johnsonville Andouille sausages after cutting in 1/4 inch slices until very browned on both sides of each slice. I served these on top of the dish like my local cajun place does it. I was asked for the recipe by those in attendance so I think it turned out well! Thanks Cindy for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe. I had to make some changes, but then that's what recipes are for, aren't they? Made my own cajun spice using one from Allrecipes to which I added thyme, oregano and bay leaf. Didn't have green pepper but did have freeze-dried red pepper so reconstituted that. Added ham in addition to other meats/seafood. Also, instead of using olive oil, I chopped 1 slice of bacon, browned it and used that oil to cook everything in. It was dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Wow, I don't think I've ever commented on a recipe on here, but I LOVED this! I did make a few small changes after reading some of the other comments. I used a can of chopped tomatoes with green chilis, added a few shallots (like garlic & an onion combined), omitted the sausage (personal preference) and substituted chicken. I cut up the raw chicken into cubes and cooked it a little with some salt & pepper and used all natural Urban Accents "Cajun Street" (savory, spicy creole seasoning). I found this pre-made spice to be excellent and have just enough heat. Found it at my local grocery store. Absolutely will make this again and my husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DogMom08132011

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States