Cindy's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is a really great base! I didn't have shrimp so I substituted some langostino lobster that I had leftover. At the end I added cayenne, salt and more cajun seasoning. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Delicious! Easy and tasty! I threw all ingredients in my crockpot and forgot about it until the aroma of cooking shrimp came wafting through the house. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sage321
Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I have made this recipe and like it. I did end up modifying it. I used crushed tomatoes, omitted the celery, used low fat turkey kielbasa, 1\2 lb of shrimp, omitted the thyme and added a bit of basil and parsley instead. I cooked the shrimp, kielbasa and pepper with the oil first , then added tomatoes and chicken broth and spices. I pre-cooked the rice before I started the sausage\shrimp\pepper mix & that cut down on the simmering time. The rice went in last. I also wanted to make sure that the rice didn't soak up all the juices from the tomatoes etc and leave it not moist enough. Then I simmered for approx 5 minutes to let all the flavors meld together and it was completed. VERY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Cindy, thanks for sharing this recipe. It was supremely easy and just delicious. I followed the recipe, but I did not use shrimp. I added cubed chicken breast along with the sausage. I couldn't wait to have leftovers for lunch today, so I had it for breakfast instead. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was excellent. I changed the tomatoes to two large fresh tomatoes and and added some ham that I had left over. I also had 8 scallops in the freezer that I added while it simmered. Because I didn't use the canned tomatoes with juice, I punched the whole thing up with 3/4 of a cup of pinot noir that I had left over...delish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was good, simple, and very meaty. I doubled the amount of sausage and white rice, and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvbaking
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Tasty, tasty, tasty! Usually I just make jambalaya from one of those box kits and call it good...but I figured I'd try to mix it up. This is a delicious, better version of what I'm use to making. I added chicken to the mix but thats the only thing I changed. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
My husband loved this and it was very easy to adjust ingredients to what I had on hand. I picked andouille sausage which make it too spicy for my taste (my own fault, not reflection on the recipe itself), but it was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is a fast and fantastic Jambalaya recipe. I'm from southern Mississippi and this will replace the more tedious method I've used in the past. I made it with deer sausage as well as with chicken in addition to the suggested traditional sausage and shrimp. Any meat works with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Decent - missing the "wow" factor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States