Cindy's Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delicious delicious and very easy to make. A few changes out of curiosity and what I had handy: 1) added chicken 2) added half a can of cream of shrimp soup (from another version of this recipe. Only reason I did that was because I didn't know such a thing existed and I had to try it), 3) added a jalapeño pepper, 4) used up some chicken/mango sausage I had left over instead of smoked and 5) used brown rice. I will definitely make this again and try adding some other goodies! Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was so easy and delicious. I also added okra and a little cayenne for heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is the recipe I usually follow except I add bite-size chicken pieces too. Family is from New Orleans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I pretty much followed the recipe to a T, but I left out the bay leaves cause I was out. I want to try those next time I make it though. I took it to a potluck at church and the bowl was scraped clean! I also took another reviewers advice to saute the rice until it turned white, then added the wet ingredients. It only took a couple minutes and it did help the rice to keep from turning mushy. Thanks Cindy for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Thought that it was really delicious and simple to prepare! Had this with homemade hush puppies. What a wonderful meal that reminded me of my time in the south. I added a little cayenne just to give a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
We really enjoyed this. Made exactly as written except no Bay Leaf. Kids ate left overs for breakfast and have asked for this again twice this week. We will be having this often, next time I will omit shrimp as hubby is allergic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this the other night by the recipe posted here. We loved it only I do wish I had added a little more Cajan Spice. I also used a boil n bag rice to save some time. I would make it again only next time I would make it spicier. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelingguitargirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Ahhhmazing! Exactly what jambalaya should taste like! Even my husband who hates jumbalaya loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Great recipe! It definitely deserves it's current All Recipe rating. I used crawfish instead of shrimp. It was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Amazing recipe, very simple, and I love the "one pot" cooking. I made it for a pot luck dinner and it surpassed my expectations for easiness and flavour! I think it is important to use good quality flavourful sausage. As one reader mentioned, make sure that the rice is well coated before adding the liquids. Also, white basmati rice is flavourful and keeps the shape well. Thank you Cindy and the fellow reviewers. I will make this meal again and I recommend it as a pot-luck or just a nice "lazy" menu. It did not even take me an hour to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Jambalaya

See how to make a spicy jambalaya with chicken and andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States