Cindy's Country Style Creole Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Wonderful. Fed picky kids and a hungry husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
We loved this recipe. Like everyone else I made a few small changes. I prepared the roast early a.m., covered and refrigerated to let it absorb the spices. I omitted the 1/3 c bacon grease, as the roast had a layer of pork fat on it. The meat was moist and there was lots of gravy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I did not follow your recipe, but used it as a guide and it turned out great! I'll share what I did with my limited ingredients and will try your recipe to see how it differs. I was looking for a crockpot recipe for a pork sirloin tip roast. I cut up 1 onion into chunks and put them in crockpot, along with 2 slices of raw applewood bacon (what I had), about 1.5 tablespoons of cajun seasoning, 1 tablespoonful chopped garlic, some Tastefully Simple Bell Pepper dip mix (I didn't have any peppers), a little water and the roast. I cooked it on low for an hour and then switched it to high for the next 3-4 hours until we were ready to eat. It was very good but did seem a little drier than I'd like (maybe it was the high setting), but dousing the meat in the juices was great. I think next time, I'll thicken up the juices to use as a gravy, but the flavor was amazing! Nice to do something different and I'll definitely do this again! Nice job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is the BEST roast recipe I've ever had!! I want to make this every day!!! I didn't have any celery so I just left it out. I used a creole seasoning recipe from this site and instead of pork, I used a bread and butter roast. It was sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME!!!! I have made it many times the whole family loves it. I had an abundance of pork loin roasts that I bought on sale. They averaged 10lbs each so I wolud cut off about a 4lb piece for roast and the rest was cut for pork chops. The only thing I did different was instead of bacon grease witch I don't keep around the house I put 2 pieces of thick bacon on top of the roast and 2 more in the pan during the last hour of cooking to get the flavor. I use all the drippings, put them in a pot and make some awesome gravy with them. Serve it with Mashed potatos, and greens or corn. Great meal. I'm making it this weekend with a pork shoulder roast, I bet it will be just as good!!!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
We had this tonight, and it was fantastic. It was a bit cold because I had to let it sit out, so we didn't eat as much as we should have, but it had a really good flavor, and it was so easy! I will certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehilgenberg10
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Very good! I made as written. It was a tad salty for my taste so that's why I gave it 4 stars. I'm not sure if it was the bacon grease or the amount of creole seasoning that added the saltiness. Very flavorful. I think 4 hours would have been way too long to cook. I took it out at 3 hours and 15 minutes and it was already 190 degrees. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Delicious! I used a whole seeded red bell pepper instead of 1/2 a green pepper. By accident, I added the entire 2 tablespoons of creole seasoning into the puree. It tasted fine and it eliminates an uneccessary step. I used a 4lb. pork loin instead of a roast. This is so good as a leftover for tacos or in chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKINGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, Iowa, USA
Living In: Manchester, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was very good. I made as directed except I didn't use the bacon grease...I didn't have any on hand and I also don't wish to clog my arteries any sooner than necessary. It's pretty spicy and the flavor from the spices is enough to give it great taste even without the bacon grease. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is such an easy and great tasting recipe. Didn't have bacon fat so I drizzled a little olive oil over the top to help with the first hour's browning. Didn't hurt anything, but not sure if it helped either. It was surprising how tasty the roast turned out. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States