Cindy's Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Wow, I am finally published!!! Check out this great recipe.. makes me so happy! The picture that is added right now by me is from tat2whttrsh aka Lambchop's Mom (thank you so much tat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
While this is certainly not a 'fancy' recipe I'm giving it a five because of the ingredient/result ratio. This is an excellent 'poor man's stroganoff'. You get the same flavor as using a more expensive meat cut, but the seasoning and the slow simmer allow you to use stew meat and get a tender and flavorful result. The gravy cooks down beautifully and is nice and beefy without being overly salty. I used a bit more of the seasonings than was called for (personal taste) and also used an 8 oz package of fresh baby bellas instead of canned mushrooms. I followed the cooking directions faithfully and this turned out beautifully. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This dish is one of my favorite comfort foods and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I've never gotten to review a recipe first. I made this several times when it was a personal recipe. It was a big hit with my family. I used a lot less flour the second time and we liked it better with just a light dusting of flour on the meat. Cooked it in a cast iron dutch oven for the three hours. Make more than you think you will need, it will go quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Glad to see that your recipe finally got published, Cindy! I grew up with Mom making something like this when I was little, so this is total comfort food. Sometimes, I'll change the ingredients up and instead of beef broth and milk, I use lemon-lime soda. This is also good with a mixture of Campbell's french onion soup, Campbells beef broth and cream of mushroom soup. I also use fresh mushrooms, whatever I have on hand. If I think of it, sometimes I'll add a few spices, a bay leaf or two. It's really good. This is also very adaptable for the crockpot. Just brown the meat like the recipe states, then layer it in the crockpot with the other ingredients. I like this best over mashed potatoes but my boys like it best over steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Cindy, what an awesome recipe! Made this over the week-end and it was a great hit. I added some sour cream at the end and served it over egg noodles. My family loved it. Thank you so much for the great recipe that will be a regular at my house time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
After browning the meat & onions in the skillet, I combined everything in the slow cooker (just because I had lots of time to kill). Turned out Delish! Gravy was really wonderful. True comfort food. Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was great! Dh said I need to make it again(which doesn't happen very often). I did add rice into the pot the last twenty minutes of cooking so we had a one pot meal! The beef was fall apart tender and so good! Thanks for a wonderfull easy meal that will frequent our dinner table often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I've made this twice, the first time exact to the recipe, and it's perfect! The second time I used venison instead of beef, and because of the cut I reduced the cooking time by 1/3. I also added 8 oz of frozen peas and carrots at the end and heated through. Over egg noodles, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Howard, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Yummy! Made a lot of the sauce though, I followed the recipe with .8 lbs of stew meat (closest in the store to a pound), and it really could've used twice that amount. Maybe next time I will double the meat, onions and mushrooms to give it more substance. I did not add the cormstarch, just let it simmer for 2.5 hours. It looked like a lot of liquid, so I left the lid off, and it really came together at the end. Even the hubby liked it, and he doesn't really like many beef dishes besides steaks and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States