Cindy's Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Glad to see that your recipe finally got published, Cindy! I grew up with Mom making something like this when I was little, so this is total comfort food. Sometimes, I'll change the ingredients up and instead of beef broth and milk, I use lemon-lime soda. This is also good with a mixture of Campbell's french onion soup, Campbells beef broth and cream of mushroom soup. I also use fresh mushrooms, whatever I have on hand. If I think of it, sometimes I'll add a few spices, a bay leaf or two. It's really good. This is also very adaptable for the crockpot. Just brown the meat like the recipe states, then layer it in the crockpot with the other ingredients. I like this best over mashed potatoes but my boys like it best over steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
While this is certainly not a 'fancy' recipe I'm giving it a five because of the ingredient/result ratio. This is an excellent 'poor man's stroganoff'. You get the same flavor as using a more expensive meat cut, but the seasoning and the slow simmer allow you to use stew meat and get a tender and flavorful result. The gravy cooks down beautifully and is nice and beefy without being overly salty. I used a bit more of the seasonings than was called for (personal taste) and also used an 8 oz package of fresh baby bellas instead of canned mushrooms. I followed the cooking directions faithfully and this turned out beautifully. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Cindy, what an awesome recipe! Made this over the week-end and it was a great hit. I added some sour cream at the end and served it over egg noodles. My family loved it. Thank you so much for the great recipe that will be a regular at my house time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Tons of flavor + easy = 100% awesome! I did mine in the slow cooker. Don't skip the pan frying! It really keeps the juice locked into your stew meat and helps hold the pieces together over the 7-8 hour cooking time (on low).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Wow, I am finally published!!! Check out this great recipe.. makes me so happy! The picture that is added right now by me is from tat2whttrsh aka Lambchop's Mom (thank you so much tat!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Ahhh-MaZinG! Thanx for sharing such a great comfort food recipe. I simplified by using the crockpot after browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This dish is one of my favorite comfort foods and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was great! Dh said I need to make it again(which doesn't happen very often). I did add rice into the pot the last twenty minutes of cooking so we had a one pot meal! The beef was fall apart tender and so good! Thanks for a wonderfull easy meal that will frequent our dinner table often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was good with a few changes. The gravy was a bit bland but I added some boullion and a lot of pepper and we enjoyed it. I followed the recipe as written other then that but didn't have to thicken up the gravy as it thicken just fine with out the cornstarch and water. It did seem like it was going to be a lot of extra gravy but I took the lid off the pan the last hour and it was perfect. We all enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Made this as listed & it was great! Searved over wide egg noodles and peas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAPAW JOE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States