Cindy's Beef Tips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
The meat was very tender, but the sauce was fairly bland. I used more meat than the recipe called for and there was still way too much sauce. The only thing that made this special was that I served it over spaetzle. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Ahhh-MaZinG! Thanx for sharing such a great comfort food recipe. I simplified by using the crockpot after browning the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I was very pleased with how tender this meat turned out. I made exactly as stated but dumped it in the slow cooker to finish. I was not crazy about the flavor of the sauce. Meat tasted fine but the sauce was rather bland. If I make this again, I will up the spices and maybe add some garlic. There was not a strong beef flavor like I was expecting in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I doubled the meat and thought there was still too much liquid. Flouring the meat made it kind of curdled looking as well. The flavor was fine, but I'm not sure it was worth the time spent in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I made this recipe entirely in my cast iron pot. It turned out great. I browned the meat in the oven on top of the stove and took it out and added a little of the broth and onions, green peppers, and fresh mushrooms. After they had cooked down, I added the meat and the soup/broth/milk mixture back to the pot. I placed the entire thing in my oven at 325 for 2 hours. The gravy thickened up very nicely this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My family would give this a four, but I'm going to rate it a 5. It was easy to make and everyone went back for seconds. I did cook it in the crockpot. The gravy might have turned out thicker if I would've cooked it in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was easy and excellent. We made it in the slow cooker. The only change I would make is to use 2 or even 3 pounds of stew meat. The gravy was excellent, but there wasn't enough meat for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Cindy, really enjoyed your recipe. It was easy and very flavorful. I did not have the exact ingredients for your recipe but pretty close. I had to sub golden mushroom soup for the cream of mushroom and 1% milk for the skim milk. I omitted the mushrooms because Dh does not care for them. I browned the meat and onions in a skilllet and put them in my slow cooker, mixed the rest of the ingredients and poured over meat and onions. Cooked on low for 7 hours. Served over whole wheat noodles. The meat was so tender. Will make this often, not only was it tasty but I can get it going before the grandkids arrive in the morning and just boil the noodles when they leave. Keep your recipes coming Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was great. I didn't have any mushrooms so I left them out. Next time I think I'm going to try using a homemade soup mix instead of the cream of mushroom but that's just a personal preference of trying to not eat prepackaged food. Thank so much Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Yummy! Made a lot of the sauce though, I followed the recipe with .8 lbs of stew meat (closest in the store to a pound), and it really could've used twice that amount. Maybe next time I will double the meat, onions and mushrooms to give it more substance. I did not add the cormstarch, just let it simmer for 2.5 hours. It looked like a lot of liquid, so I left the lid off, and it really came together at the end. Even the hubby liked it, and he doesn't really like many beef dishes besides steaks and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States