Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I made this 2 days in a row! 1st time I followed the recipe to the exact. It was good! But it did not thicken up for me. I think I added way to much water. But the second day I added a bottle of clam juice and a 3rd can of chopped clams and 1 Tbs. of flour almost at the end of cooking time to thicken. And it came out way better than the 1st time I made it. It was delicious! My husband and daughter had seconds and my husband ate it again for breakfast. He said it was the best Clam Chowder he ever had. This recipe will be part of fave recipe collection and I will be making this for the months and years to come. Thank you so much xo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Had a disappointing experience at a very good local restaurant with their fish chowder, so decided to try one on my own. So glad I did - this is FANTASTIC!!! As many other reciewers, I cut the half-and-half with 1% milk, and it was still wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe - it will be present at out next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I followed Cindy's added recommendation of using 2 bottles clam broth in place of water to cook the potatoes. I also added a bit of thyme as I love the flavor of thyme in my chowder. I live on the Jersey Shore and this by far is one of the BEST clam chowders I have ever had and SO quick and simple to prepare. No more running out to the pricey seafood restaurants to get my fix. My husband is a big coffee drinker so we always have plenty of half and half in house (we use fat free) and I keep all the other ingredients on hand so I can whip this delicious chowder up whenever the whim hits. Thank you Cindy this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
This is my first try at clam chowder and this stuff is Delicious with a capital D! Hard to believe something this simple could taste this good!! Note to self: Drain away about a third of the bacon grease after removing bacon, salt potatoes very lightly, no carrots, and use low fat half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
FANTASTIC!!!! This is a super easy recipe to make. The family loved it. I served it with hushpuppies one night and garlic bread the next night. I made a few changes to make it low fat. I omitted the bacon and bacon grease. Instead, I used a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and sauteed 1/2 an onion and carrots. I used reduced sodium chicken broth to cover vegetables instead of water and used fat free half and half. I also added a little garlic powder and old bay seasoning. The result was a rich and creamy chowder. You will never miss the fat. I will make this over and over. Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wonderful reminder of the chowder my grandma made. I had trouble finding Leek soup but DH went out of town and made a special trip just to try this. I will try it with the Vegetable soup next as I think that will work as a sub to the Leek. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Being an elder and lazy, I used prefried and crumbled bacon (SAMs Club) 16 oz sliced carrots from frozen food section and on low card, no potatoes. Added 1 cup diced celery at last few minutes for a mild crunch. This is so good and obviously versatile that next time will sub clams with shrimp...now shrimp bisque or lobster..now lobster bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was very good. I added salt and pepper while potatoes and carrots were cooking, but this was a little bit too salty. I would eliminate that step next time. I am lactose intolerant, so used lactose free milk instead of the half and half. It was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! It was easy and it didn't take much time. I took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the potatoes and carrots in all clam juice instead of adding water. The only thing I would do differently is add one more can of clams. Nevertheless I give it five stars, The leek soup is a must! I couldn't find it anywhere except Meijer supermarket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This soup was a huge hit. I also took Cindy's suggestion and made paninis with sourdough, hamd and swiss cheese. Really turned out to be a great dinner. I had to vary the recipe though not by choice. My grocery store didn't cary the leek soup mix so I used fresh leeks, diced and them with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thebrattons

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Crescent Springs, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States