Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I will elaborate, but I think Hubs' remark as he ate his first spoonful says it all. "This is really good," he said. "Much better than most of the stuff I get at restaurants. Make it again." How's THAT for a compliment? I stuck pretty closely to the recipe, but I did substitute celery for the carrots (icky-I don't like them), and added some finely chopped onion. I also covered the potatoes with bottled clam juice (one 8-0z bottle for a half recipe) rather than water, which I think contributed significantly to its full flavor. I did find then, that I didn't need quite the full amount of half-and-half to achieve the right level of thickness. I didn't add salt to the soup, thinking there might just be enough in the leek soup mix, which proved to be the case. This is rich, full-flavored and satisfying in every way. We cleaned up every drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
My family loves clam chowder and this is our favorite recipe. Everyone looks forward to it. I serve it with a rustic bread and green salad. It's a hit everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This clam chowder is amazing!!! Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I love this recipe. So easy and better than in any restaurant I've tried. I served to guests with yummy French bread and a salad. Everyone raved about the chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Jo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is the best chowder ever. I do add two bottles clam juice along with two additional cans of clams. A small amout of thyme gives it the taste we get from chowder in Monterey, Ca. it is good made straight from the recipe. Been making it for several years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Good Chowder recipe. I added a chopped onion and can of corn and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Followed it almost exactly, it was good, and it made a bunch! I cook my bacon on a cookie sheet in the oven so I did that again and just put the potatoes and carrots in clam juice to cook. I think the only thing that I would try differently next time is not add water to cover the potatoes, but use a bottle of clam juice. I think maybe more clams next time too. Will for sure be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
DH absolutly loved this chowder, nothing needs to be changed or altered in any way. Will be made time and time again!! Thanks Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner. I followed the recipe exactly as written only adding 2 stalks of celery. All I can say is fantastic! Thank you Cindy for an easy to prepare and great tasting soup. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made this when I got home from work. was simple, easy and soo good the only thing I did was I had forgot to add the leek soup so when I had tasted it I thought it was too bland added butter and then remembered the soup added that and my boyfriend gorged himself on it. It was delish. Absolutely fabulous. It didn't thicken up but I am okay with that I know it was because I added too much water but I loved it as is. Will be making this again. Also I did cook it with clam juice but didn't have enough to cook the potatos in it fully and added water with chicken bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ariessweetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States