Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Deserves the "awesome" name in its title. Substituted a parsnip for the potatoes, added an extra can of clams, used chicken broth instead of water, and only 1 pkg of leek soup. Great flavor and I lived in Boston for a number of years. Thanks Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
So good. I could not find the leek soup in 2 stores so I added a potato soup mix and fresh leeks instead and some frozen corn. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
WOW! This recipe was exactly what I was looking for, for that perfect fall night! I followed the recipe exactly as stated, and cannot say I'd change a thing. PERFECT just the way it is. Thank you for such an easy, yet satisfying chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Made this as directed and loved it! It was very good and full of flavor. Saved this one and will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe so many times exactly as it was posted and it is absolutely amazing! My friends that have eaten it at my house have nicknamed it "crack soup", they say after one bite you are addicted!!! I usually serve it in a bread bowl and there are never any leftovers. Thanks Cindy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This simple chowder is wonderful. First time that I tried it, Mrs. Knorr's Vegetable soup was used because it was in the pantry. It was wonderful. I have since made it with leek soup and once doubled it with one package of each. All turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Watson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Amherst, Ohio, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This recipe was just great! Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Thought I'd make this soup today, because it's snowing here in MPLS. Yes, it's May 3rd, and yes, it's snowing, grrrr! Anyway, the soup is pretty tasty. I could not find the leek soup mix at my closest grocery store, so I had to sub Knorr Vegetable Soup mix, and I only used 1 packet. I also added 2 stalks of celery in addition to the carrots. I added just enough water to cover the potatoes, but it was a little on the thin side when the soup was done, so next time I will add less. I just simmered it for longer to thicken it up. I decided to make the recipe using the clam juice and water it called for, instead of spending money on extra clam juice and chicken stock, and was glad I did. We thought there was plenty of clam flavor just from the clams and juice they were packed in and plenty of flavor, period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was better than most clam chowders I've ordered in restaurants! I didn't have everything on hand, so I tweaked things a bit. We had a vegetarian guest over so I ommitted the bacon (I know EVERYTHING is better with bacon, but I thought it tasted pretty darn good without it), and to give it a bit more flavour, I sauteed celery and leeks in olive oil first and then added the potatoes. I also ommitted the carrots (my husband won't eat cooked carrots in any form). I only used one leek soup package instead of two, but everything else I followed and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
found this on here and figured since my name is Cindy it must be for me :) so I made garlic rosemary bread bowls and this awesome chowder. They went perfectly together. This is an awesome recipe but not for anyone on a diet of low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Hendren Bybee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kooskia, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States