Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
add clam juice instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Could not taste the clams at all even though I boiled the potatos with clam juice. that being said excellent soup, just wouldn't serve it as clam chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I would give this ten stars if I could. This was absolutely amazing. I served this at a dinner party the other night and everyone raved and wanted the recipe. The only changes I made were: I used only four pieces of bacon, did not use salt or pepper, and used 4 cans of chopped clams. I had only light cream so I used that, but it is very similar to half and half. I used the juice from the canned clams to cook the potatoes in, adding a little water to just cover the potatoes. The soup turned out nice and thick and the flavor, well, I can't find the words right now. Thanks for this wonderful chowder recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Wow! Tasted clam chowder at various restaurants in Boston and this one rates right up there with the best. The only change I made was to use Land of Lakes fat free half and half - just for health reasons. Some of our local grocery stores do not have the potato leak soup and after I tried this soup I knew I needed it -so I went back and bought six of them so I'd have it on hand. Will make again and again! Next time I'm going to add a can of minced clams to get a little more clam flavor - but good as it is! Also, definitely use red potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Whole family loved it the first time. Second time i used bottle of clam juice instead of water for the potatoes, and I used fat free half-and-half which cuts out at least half the fat for a little less guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Hi Cindy! I tweeked this for personal preference only. Used 3 regular sized potatoes and 4 rashers of bacon, 1/2 tsp thyme, one envelope of leek soup and 20 oz. 1/2 and 1/2. It's just my husband and me to feed so I scaled your recipe down to fit our needs. Have leftovers for lunch. Excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Made exactly as written. Hard to find leek soup, but worth the search. Don't try to substitute. Soup mix MADE the flavor. I am not a big fan of clam chowder, but this one changed my mind. It was beyond AWESOME. Hubby loved it too. Next time will double for more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Hearty and delicious, definitely 5 star worthy or better. Only tweak I made was adding a rib of finely diced celery. Thanks Cindy for the fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I need to give this 50 starrs!!! This is the most amazing clam chowder I have ever tasted. Yummy, Easy and fast. I did add almost half a small jar of clam juice. It was totally amazing recipe my Family of 8 loved this and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
The Knorr Leek Soup mix is hard to find - I googled and found it at a nearby store I seldom frequent. It is an essential component! Another reviewer suggested adding 1 tsp thyme - if you do so, use 1/2 tsp because it contributes a strong flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States