Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was REALLY good considering I'm not a chowder or potato fan (my husband is)! I took the advice of cooking the potatoes is clam juice vs. water. I also added a shake of cayenne because we love spicy. This was so flavorful and filling. What a beautiful dish for a cold rainy day in March!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I love this recipe. It is delicious and I get compliments every time I serve it. This time I bake up some haddock and added it at the end. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I made this last night and we all loved it. I used half clam juice & 1/2 chicken broth, since I had some to use up in my refrigerator. I also used just 3 slices of thick bacon and 2% milk to cut some fat, and a few shakes of Old Bay to season. I think I had to cook it a bit longer to get the creamier soup texture that I like in a chowder, but the wait was worth it. This had great flavor. Thankfully there is still some leftover, because I can't wait to have it for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Delicious Chowder!! I was happy with the easy to follow directions and only made a couple of minor adjustments… I did add celery and a 3rd can of clams with juice, otherwise stayed true to the recipe. Now that I know how simple and delicious this is, I will be making it again and again. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Love this soup ! My family adores it! Here's my small changes. 1. I used 2 bottles of clam juice instead of water 2. Package of creamy potato soup mix, instead of leek 3. 3 cans of minced clams instead of 2 4. First time I made, I didn't have carrots, so I used celery, and that's just what I use now. Thanks for my base for this as I think the added soup mix makes for the best chowder ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Soup tasted good, but tasted more like a potato soup than a clam chowder. I even added a bottle of clam juice to replace the cooking water for potatoes. Would cut back on amount of potatoes for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was better than expected. I added some diced celery with the potatoes and carrots. Next time I will add some corn with the clams and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Minnick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
The only thing I didn't do was add carrots bc I didn't have any on hand, but I did have celery so I used them instead. I followed the steps exactly as instructed and even used the Knorr brand leek soup mix. It was fantastic, even better than the famous clam chowder in SF by pier 39. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Awesome! Instead of using water use a bottle of clam juice. I also added 3 tablespoons of butter. other than that it was/is a very good recipe! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bodeker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup was good, but being from the northeast i would not call it clam chowder. The leek soup packets dominate the clam flavor even having used clam juice to cook the veggies. My family liked this soup its just not the clam chowder recipe we would expect in our region. I will try a roux based chowder next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States