Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Awesome! Instead of using water use a bottle of clam juice. I also added 3 tablespoons of butter. other than that it was/is a very good recipe! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bodeker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This soup was good, but being from the northeast i would not call it clam chowder. The leek soup packets dominate the clam flavor even having used clam juice to cook the veggies. My family liked this soup its just not the clam chowder recipe we would expect in our region. I will try a roux based chowder next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This recipe was ok, but not awesome. I used other reviews suggestions and added two bottles of clam juice instead of water for more clam taste, which was a great suggestion, but the leek soup mix still overpowered the recipe and made it taste like a artificially flavored prepared food, not even close to a homemade taste for all the extra work, instead of just opening a can. In addition there was not enough clams in this soup. Next time I would add fresh onion, four cans of clams and celery, and omit the leek soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Very easy to make and very delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Great recipe thanks for sharing Cindy !! We love it!! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
very nice, very easy, I may try some changes on next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Easy recipe tasted really good, it was well liked. However, I'm going to leave off the potato skins the next time as, it was something I found that I preferred after making the recipe. And I'm more of a person that likes a more intense clam/seafood flavor, so I'll be using seafood stock or more clam juice in place of the water addition in step 2. However, will be on rotation for the family as they liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
My only changes to this recipe were 4 cans of clams, 2 bottles (8oz. Each) of clam juice, no water, about a tsp&1/2 of ground thyme and extra black pepper( because I love it). It was really good! Also used light cream because that's what I had. Cooking directions were spot on, thank you, I will definitely make this again! Better than a lot of New England restaurant's that we have been in! Oops, also put in diced celery and green onion( had to use them up) as well as the carrot. Great meal with crusty bread to dunk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I used the vegetable dried soup mix because that is all my local grocer had, and it still came out pretty good. The taste was great, but there was a lot of 'clutter' with all he dried veggies. I added some onion with the potatoes and sauteed for 10 minutes in the bacon grease to make up for not using leek soup. I didn't add any salt and served with some sourdough bread. The recipe made enough soup for two lunches for a family of four. I was really happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Excellent just as written. If you want a big clam taste, I would recommend the addition of clam base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States