Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Amazing. With these ingredients, I think it'd be hard to have it taste bad. I had undersized cans of clams, so mine wasn't very clam-my, but the bacon taste filled the void. I used chicken broth to cook the potatoes, which might have made mine a little saltier. I used celery instead of carrots. I'd like to try it with whole milk - I don't think it would lose anything, considering how flavorful it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
very good and fairly easy for a week night- may add more clams next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
We just finished eating our first batch of this and it was truly awesome. I did not have the extra clam juice and the potatoes softened a bit too much, so it tasted more like potato soup than clam chowder. Next time I'll ad more clam and omit the bacon. I used FF half-and-half, like many of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Absolutly delish! I am giving 4 stars because I thought there could have been more of a clam flavor. I think swapping the water for clam juice would be best. Other than that we loved this recipe. I got mini bread bowls from the bakery and served the soup in them. DH and I both ate a bread bowl and an extra serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Well Cindy you did it again... this was SO good. I threw in a bottle of clam juice cause it was sitting aroung and i used more potatoes. So simple and perfect for a cool evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I followed recipe except that I only had i package of Knorr leek soup mix. It was delicious, The second day very thick (will never use 2 knoors as recipe calls for) but even better taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thornbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Try this recipe...delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was AWESOME. I am throwing away my old recipe (sorry Grandma) and using this, going forward. It was so quick and easy...loved that I didnt have to make a roux, yet it still thickened really nicely. Like other people, I added celery, onion and thyme. I also had some frozen shrimp in my freezer, so I tossed those in as well. The only thing I would not add is additional salt. The soup mix was salty enough. The salt I added (maybe 1 1/2 tsp) pushed it to borderline "too salty"...but still totally edible! Thanks for posting such a keeper, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYHOSTESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excited by all the great reviews, I couldn't wait to try this. Although it was good, with every mouthful I tasted a "chemical" taste. Knowing it had to be the dry leek soup mix, I checked its ingredients. It contains chemicals like sulfites, monosodium glutamate, disodium guanylate and disodium inosinate. Many people have adverse reactions to sulfites and MSG. As someone who tries to eat a healthy, natural diet and avoid chemicals as much as possible, I will make my clam chowder from scratch and not use this recipe anymore. Just couldn't get past the underlying chemical taste this had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
AMAZING clam chowder! Served it to our friends one night and one of them said "Only because of family reasons I cannot say this is the best clam chowder ever" I knew he meant this is the BEST ever! (but I can't say it) :) I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xSn0wfl4kex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States