Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was an awesome and easy recipe! Even my boyfriend really liked it, and he actually doesn't really care for clam chowder. The bacon and potatoes add more flavor and heartiness. Thanks Cindy - I live in Pensacola too! The only thing I may try next time is using fresh steamed clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
It finally got cold on the east coast and this was the perfect soup to make. I took other reviewers advice and cooked the potatoes&carrots in clam juice not only from the cans of clams but also 1 bottle of clam juice. I t was fantastic. I have already shared this recipe with friends and can't recommend it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Yum!!! Perfect for a rainy Dec. night. My family loved this and it was very easy to make. The only thing that I would do different next time is find a way to cut the salt. It was a little to salty and I did not add any. The is plenty in the bacon and the dry soup mix though. Also, I thought that it needed more potatoes but that is just because I like my chowder full of chunks of potatoes. If you really like clams you will definitely want to add more. Thanks. We'll do this again and I am looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
So delicious. I made a pot of this chowder for dinner and thought I would have leftovers for the week- no way! It was so good we ate every last drop. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
OMG...if i could give this more stars I would....I made homemade bread bowls and served this chowder in them.....my hubby and I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this recipe!!!!!...Thanks for Sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine A. Jimenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Thank You Cindy for this great recipe. Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is a very hearty chowder, really warms the soul! And Cindy, you're right...the whole family adored it! I would recommend that you don't add any salt...the bacon and the soup mix make it plenty salty, wait until serving to taste test then add salt if needed. I put in one package of soup mix, blended it and added part of the other, I guess about a half, until it tasted right to me. Thank you Cindy for posting this delicious and easy clam chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Amazing. With these ingredients, I think it'd be hard to have it taste bad. I had undersized cans of clams, so mine wasn't very clam-my, but the bacon taste filled the void. I used chicken broth to cook the potatoes, which might have made mine a little saltier. I used celery instead of carrots. I'd like to try it with whole milk - I don't think it would lose anything, considering how flavorful it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
very good and fairly easy for a week night- may add more clams next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
We just finished eating our first batch of this and it was truly awesome. I did not have the extra clam juice and the potatoes softened a bit too much, so it tasted more like potato soup than clam chowder. Next time I'll ad more clam and omit the bacon. I used FF half-and-half, like many of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States