Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
added sauted leeks, celery and garlic. Only one package of Knorr Spring Vegetable soup mix, 4 cans clams. Used strained clam juice and 1 bottle of clam juice to cover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I had to use vegetable soup mix bc I couldn't find leek soup mix. I had to thicken with cornstarch at the end and I mashed some of the potatoes to help thicken. My secret ingredient is Cajun seasoning and a dash or two of cayenne. Also a splash of red wine vinegar is yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Yum! This isn't something I would normally think I would like. But, it was delicious! I sauteed half an onion and some garlic with the potatoes/carrots since I had them ready to use. Leek Soup is getting hard to find so I just used 1 packet of Knorr Vegetable Mix since I had that on hand also. I upped the clam to 3 cans. I didn't feel like I needed the full amount of half-n-half (maybe because I used more clam juice/water). Thanks for sharing this easy to make, delicious, and filling recipe on this cold and windy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Very tasty. Try adding in some crab meat to really get controversial!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Esparto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious! It was definitely more than 8 servings but it tasted like restaurant quality! If you don't want the flour-like taste, cook your flour mixture well and don't be in a hurry. I knew to do this already because I make flour-based roux for gumbo all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very very good and couldn't have been easier to make. I added thyme and a splash or two of white wine and not nearly as many potatoes as the recipe called for (I used two huge baking potatoes). I also used turkey bacon. I'm sure it altered the end result somewhat but I try to trim calories and fat where I can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Awesome recipe, one bottle of clam juice a little water and the juice from 2 cans was plenty to cover veggies. I added a bit of onion and celery, no other spices are needed. Too bad the Knorr soup mix has changed over the years, I had an older package and a new package and the old one actually had chunks of leeks. Also used fat free half and half and finished with a teaspoon of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
For some reason, the grocers that I visited did not have leek soup mix. I had to fudge things around but I agree with another reviewer in that there is hardly clam taste in this chowder. It is more like a potato soup with clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was so yummy!! I had never made clam chowder before this, so I was a little nervous that it would be too clammy or too fishy, but it wasn't - it was delicious!! The only change I made was I used onion soup mix instead of leek soup mix - I looked everywhere for leek soup mix and I just couldn't find any, so I had no choice. Otherwise, I stayed true to the recipe and I will make this again, for sure. Even my kiddos and picky husband said we should have this again - they loved it. Next time I may try blending it with a hand blender before I add the clams and bacon in so I can "hide" the carrots and potatoes from my kids. It might make it a little thicker too, which would be good. But this was awesome - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Easy! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States