Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Absolutly delish! I am giving 4 stars because I thought there could have been more of a clam flavor. I think swapping the water for clam juice would be best. Other than that we loved this recipe. I got mini bread bowls from the bakery and served the soup in them. DH and I both ate a bread bowl and an extra serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Well Cindy you did it again... this was SO good. I threw in a bottle of clam juice cause it was sitting aroung and i used more potatoes. So simple and perfect for a cool evening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I followed recipe except that I only had i package of Knorr leek soup mix. It was delicious, The second day very thick (will never use 2 knoors as recipe calls for) but even better taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thornbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Try this recipe...delicious .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was AWESOME. I am throwing away my old recipe (sorry Grandma) and using this, going forward. It was so quick and easy...loved that I didnt have to make a roux, yet it still thickened really nicely. Like other people, I added celery, onion and thyme. I also had some frozen shrimp in my freezer, so I tossed those in as well. The only thing I would not add is additional salt. The soup mix was salty enough. The salt I added (maybe 1 1/2 tsp) pushed it to borderline "too salty"...but still totally edible! Thanks for posting such a keeper, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAVVYHOSTESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excited by all the great reviews, I couldn't wait to try this. Although it was good, with every mouthful I tasted a "chemical" taste. Knowing it had to be the dry leek soup mix, I checked its ingredients. It contains chemicals like sulfites, monosodium glutamate, disodium guanylate and disodium inosinate. Many people have adverse reactions to sulfites and MSG. As someone who tries to eat a healthy, natural diet and avoid chemicals as much as possible, I will make my clam chowder from scratch and not use this recipe anymore. Just couldn't get past the underlying chemical taste this had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
AMAZING clam chowder! Served it to our friends one night and one of them said "Only because of family reasons I cannot say this is the best clam chowder ever" I knew he meant this is the BEST ever! (but I can't say it) :) I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xSn0wfl4kex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was a really easy and simple recipe to follow. I don't cook too often and my boyfriend wanted clam chowder soup for supper so I used this recipe. The only thing I changed was instead of using the dry leek soup mix (which I was not able to find after checking two stores), I used baked burgundy french onion soup mix by Cugino's. I thought the flavor was fantastic. It added a nice taste of onion. This is a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janafay25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Tripled this recipe as I like to freeze soups and such when I make them. Followed the recipe to a T, except I omitted one pack of soup mix. (Used 5 instead of 6) The consistency of this chowder couldn't be more perfect. Very creamy! I chopped up the 15 potatoes by hand, but have made other recipes with frozen plain hashbrowns, and I might try that next time. Saves time when you need it in a hurry. Did not add any extra salt to this recipe. This one is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie3372

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I'm going to rate this before my family even tries it. Why? Because I don't CARE what they think! LoL It's just perfect, exactly as the recipe is written. I am so impressed with it that, if my husband and boys don't care for it, I will still be making it for myself. I was concerned over the amount of clams (too much?), the amount of soup mix (way too much?), and the amount of potatoes (not enough?) but I stuck to the recipe and I'm so glad I did. Sheer perfection. Oh, and the Knorr Leek Soup mix came from Meijer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjack68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States