CindyD's Somewhat Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe. I think it needs more flavor, maybe more salt? I only made chicken legs and adjusted recipe for 3 servings. I was out of eggs so oiled the chicken for coating. I had a lot of left over flour but I have to say the coating stayed on well. Good healthy color for the chicken, not as crispy as I would like... but all-in-all an easy to follow, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Great recipe. The seasoning is perfect. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe~just used different spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Lions, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This was a big hit with my family. Even my toddler enjoyed this recipe. I highly recommend giving this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rumrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
The flavor of this chicken is awesome! We will definitely be making it again. I was out of eggs so I just didn't use them, which was fine. I do however think the cook time is too long. I tested my chicken 5 minutes before time and it was already at 200 degrees so I'm thinking maybe 10 minutes each side, maybe even less. Besides that the chicken was perfect! Making the gravy with some of the leftover flour however was not a good idea; it did not have a good flavor at all. I want to end on a good note so I'll state again, GREAT chicken! Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was really good, but I think it needs about 1/2 teaspoon more of salt or season salt. Otherwise, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I thought this chicken ended up tasting very nice and I mine did have a nice crispness to it. I did do the first 10 mins higher and then moved to a much lower temp for the rest of the time. I didn't have to cook a full 20 mins on 2nd side, so be careful. Adjust to the size of your chicken. I did also add some extra salt per other comments and was just a little heavy handed on the other spices too, flavor was nice and chicken moist. Gave a 4 only because of the few changes I made, otherwise a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
spectacular. Best, simplest, easiest recipe I've found and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States