Cindi's Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I didn't care for them. I'm Asian and am extremely picky when it comes to egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
These were great! I just grated the cabbage, bell pepper, and onion in the food processor to simplify things. I found that the mix was a little watery to put in the wrappers so I transferred it to a colander to let the extra liquid run out. Great reviews! I used red bell pepper rather than green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent recipe! I broke my own cardinal rule about only rating a recipe that I've made exactly as written, I did leave out peppers. I personally don't think of peppers when I think of egg rolls. I was spot on with the rest of the recipe though, except I pan sauteed them to brown instead of deep frying. Delicious filling, this recipe is now in my recipe box for a go-to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA
Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
For some reason, I am not able to edit my own recipe, and I wanted to state that the temp to cook/deep fry these egg rolls should be 375º, not 365º. Also, when ready to seal the egg rolls, sometimes I'll add a bit of cornstarch to the warm water, to make a paste, and to help seal the wrap a bit better. This recipe can make 20-25 egg rolls (or possibly 30-35). With this recipe, you can also use: 1 lb. ground beef, or 1 lb. seasoned pork sausage, or 8-oz. medium-size precooked shrimp, in place of the pork steak. Cindi (aka DomesticGoddess)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made these on a whim, they are great couldn't have gotten better at a Chinese palace Good Job Cindi Thanks so much uggie2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Two things I did different. I used some sirracha to heat it up a bit. Instead of chopping the cabbage and carrots I used the prepared cole slaw to save time! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I personally feel that while I love green bell peppers and they are good in stir-fry but not in egg rolls. Once I eliminated the peppers and exchanged the strong flavor of the molasses for honey, the recipe was wonderful. My husband and I prefer to eat our egg rolls by biting off the end and pouring good soy sauce into them so we don't eat the sweet & sour sauce but many of our family members enjoy it. The only other thing to say is that I only use peanut oil to fry them but I know allergies prevent this for some diners. If you can use it, it will really enhance the flavor of the finished food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I always cook the recipe, as written first. I did this and loved these egg rolls! The first ones came apart in the fryer and after a short temper tantrum on my part, I used toothpicks to keep them closed. I read some of the reviews that said just wetting the wrappers with water is good enough. LOL So, a little overkill on my part. LOL I made the sweet and sour sauce from Nana Nat and now I can't wait to do them again. I might try shrimp next time!! Thanks for making this white girl a chinese hit tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I was feeling ambitious, so I gave these a try. They were wonderful! Just like the egg rolls at a Chinese restaurant. I also made wonton's the same night with similar filling from another recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made these and they turned out great, I like the use of all fresh veggies and the ginger, next time I just will add more soy sauce. A real hit with the sweet and sour sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States