Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
An excellent fresh salsa. If you have good summer tomatoes you don't have to use cherry tomatoes. The mint is a different addition for me. I liked it - hubby didn't like it as much so I would say, for us, the mint is optional. I made this for Faceless Frenzy July 2012 - thanks for a good recipe to give a face too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
A great garden fresh flavor that is perfect anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docholiday196868

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Really delicious! Will definitely be making this for bbq's this summer. However, I will be reducing the salt. A little too salty for my taste when 1 tsp is used. I would recommend using half a tsp and tasting from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Fabulous! I substituted 3 medium sized tomatoes from the garden rather than the cherry tomatoes and followed the rest of the recipe and it was excellent! Don't delete the mint! It gives it a fresher taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Fabulous! It's fresh and wonderful for a summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very clean and spicy tasting, Chef John rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Yummy! Very fresh and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
It was wonderful! have made this 2x with fresh tomatoes from our garden! The Mint brings a refreshing taste to the table. Can't wait to make another batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wvsharonanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
The unique flavor add of the mint really made this salsa "Better than the average bear".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Not your average "salsa". It is crisp and clean and citrus-y with some heat. It is exactly what Chef John says....addictive. At first I thought there was too much lime but then as you eat you look forward to it. A 1/2 bunch of cilantro is left up to the cooks discretion as all bunches are different sizes. I put a tad too much in ours but it doesn't make it a deal breaker. I plan to serve mine with chips...yes...but also carne asada tacos. Can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Pico de Gallo

See how to make a simple and super-fresh Mexican salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States