Cinco De Mayo Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Oh my! I just finished the dressing and I'm already in love. This is such a bright and vibrant! Yummmmm! Can't wait to finish the entire dish tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
The dressing is so good! We had the salad once as a side and the next time added ham and hard boiled eggs as a main dish. Also added avocados which put it over the top. We will enjoy this salad often. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This salad looks and taste wonderful! The salad dressing is full of flavor and so delicious! The combination of ingredients lends itself to a very healthy and tasty salad! Thank you Saveur so much for sharing as this will be a regular in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Outstanding salad recipe that is loaded with flavor! I (We) loved everything about this salad and the dressing works as a wonderful stand-alone dressing. I've made the dressing two additional times, just to have on a simple lettuce salad. I admit to 2 changes in the recipe. I use anchovy paste in the dressing rather than fillets as I always have the paste on hand. Also, I had to use frozen corn, but it was fresh off-the-cob corn that I had froze. I made this for my son and DIL's Couples Wedding Shower and it was a huge hit. I came home with an empty bowl and no dressing left. :o) Fantastic recipe Savvy - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
YUMMERS! This was really good! Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Saveur
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
We just loved the combination of flavours in this recipe. Will do agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Savvy's recipe was recommended to me by our friend, Candice, and I'm ever so thankful! Shared it with about 20 other AR friends at Marianne's Sauza Tequila party yesterday. A real homerun! You will be amazed with the dressing and fresh blend of veggies. Like Bibi, I used 1 lb of spring greens and that was perfect. I agree with Christine that it puts me in mind of a Mexican Caesar salad. Thanks again, Savvy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Made for our Cinco de Mayo gathering: The reviews from everyone was “Santo Guacamole!” (Holy Guacamole!) This is SO delicious! I made it exactly as written with no changes or substitutions. It’s perfect, delicious and filling. This is my new favorite salad. I made it for May 5th, and I’ll make it for July 4th, August 3rd, September 2, and October 1st. Absolutely LOVE this salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This colorful salad is a beautiful presentation, and it is a creative and tasty combination of ingredients. Served for a dinner party, I followed the recipe exactly except for one thing. I used 1 pound of salad greens, and this made 8 generous salads. I love it when folks ask for the recipe, in my book, that makes it a winner! Thanks, Saveur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
DELICIOUS, but I expected nothing less... The dressing is fantastic! I made it the night before to allow the flavors to blend thoroughly. I loved everything going on in this salad...the crunch form the lettuce, peppers and croutons, the sharpness of the parm cheese, the savory black beans and the sweetness of the corn (I used canned), combined w/ the dressing, mmmm... Oh, and I added some vidalia onions in there too. All of the flavors blended beautifully! This really did remind me of a 'Mexicen Caesar Salad'. I will def be making this again and again...it's so fun, festive and refreshing! Thanks, Saveur, for sharing this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States