Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Fantastic!!! Love, love, LOVE this recipe! The ancho and cayenne work wonderfully with the richness of the devil's food cake. As written, I found it to have just the right amount of kick - not overwhelming at all. It really is a great 'adult' cupcake. The frosting is KILLER and compliments the cupcakes perfectly. I will definitely make these again. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
WOW...these were AMAZING!!!! Made them exactly as written and feel there are no changes needed...just the right amount of 'heat', not a hot, spicy heat, just a warm heat that you can feel in the back of your throat....SO YUMMY! The icing is definately the star of these cupcakes, and would go great on a variety of cakes, or from a spoon as I was doing, lol. Even my little guy LOVED these, but he is partial to spicy foods, so I knew that he would be ablr to handle this. Can't wait to share these with my family and friends. Definate repeat recipe! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was quite interesting! I just made this for my husband & our neighbors whom were over.. These were a hit with all the guys for sure... very different, but worth a try.. IMO the frosting didn't look too appealing because of the spices, so I topped it with caramel sauce to help. Regardless, by the time everyone left they had eaten them all gone! They are an adult cupcake, I wouldn't recommend these for kids, unless they have a eclectic pallet & can tolerate heat.. I will note that I used tofutti non-dairy cream cheese & earth balance butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is my recipe and I was requested to make 50 for an event in Eugene. I amped up the Ancho and Cayenne ground pepper per request to two teaspoons Ancho and 1/2 teaspoon Cayenne in the CC batter. Actually, I thought it tasted good and was still not too hot for this wimp. That's why I like this recipe. Make it as you like... less pepper powder or more. Of course I made some for hubby too! He liked the spicer version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by tattoogirllovessteven
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Wonderful! My husband is in the Army and I made these for a bake sale at his work! Everyone loved them! They sold out in a flash! Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Fantastic!!Made these according to the recipe as written mainly out of curiosity! WoW!!! They were a big hit at a party I had tonight. I made them as minature cupcakes and served them as a "Guess the ingredient " dish. Only one person out of 22 came up with the Ancho chili and cayenne pepper. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe. I tasted the batter and loved it, I tasted the frosting which would have been delicious with no spices and decided to add more of each type of chili per personal taste. They are just delicious and I love how they look. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
made as directed, but made mini's (bake time 15 minutes). they were a huge hit - every one got eaten, most people ate two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made these for my mexican party and they were a HUGE hit! I'm not sure if I am an under-icer but with 24 cupcakes, I still had half the icing left over...so I just made a cake and finished the icing off. Win win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These were a hit in our house and with the co-workers! You can easily add more spice to your taste. Very mild flavor as written. Frosting is awesome and would be great with the cinnamon alone for use with spice cake or pumpkin cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States