Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
These were a hit in our house and with the co-workers! You can easily add more spice to your taste. Very mild flavor as written. Frosting is awesome and would be great with the cinnamon alone for use with spice cake or pumpkin cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Perfect amount of spicy and chocolate! Made these for our Mexican themed game night and everyone LOVED them! They leave just the right amount of warmth. So delicious and easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
These cupcakes are such a surprisingly fun treat! Just the right amount of heat. They make your tongue tingle but are very delicious. I used pillsbury's moist supreme devil's food mix and the cupcakes without frosting were noteworthy. After adding the frosting, they were outstanding. I highly recommend this recipe and I plan on experimenting with a little extra spice for more heat.?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I really loved these, they were good! But they fell apart so easily, and were very doughy. I felt pretty terrible after I served them to a party and no one liked them, and I don't think I'll ever make these again anytime soon. I really hate to leave a bad review, but I was thoroughly disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Made recipe exactly as stated (as much as I avoid using box mix because I hate the taste, I thought the spice would counteract the 'chemical' tones). Box mix just tastes like normal box chocolate cake, no spice tones to it, and the frosting tastes like spicy cream cheese. Maybe it's because I don't like cream cheese that much, but when I bit into a cupcake to try it I had to throw the rest out. If I were ever try to remake these, I'd make the cake from scratch and possibly double the spice, and either add a lot more powdered sugar or vanilla to counteract the strong cream cheese flavor of the frosting. Or I just won't try to make these again! Also only made around 15 cupcakes, same with the amount of frosting (might have been me over pouring into the paper cups though). Really disappointed and I'm almost ashamed to bring the rest into work since I've made a multitude of other recipes on this site for my coworkers, all of which were a hit. Hope this doesn't leave a bad taste for my baking in their mouth - live and learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toririot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Excellent recipe. I tasted the batter and loved it, I tasted the frosting which would have been delicious with no spices and decided to add more of each type of chili per personal taste. They are just delicious and I love how they look. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I had to try these because they were unusual. I love them! They're not spicy at all...just a hint in the finish. The frosting is super-yummy! It was a hit overall at work, and I'd definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I made these last night for a party at my house. My husband LOVED them, I thought they could use a ittle more heat - I was slightly disappointed. Overall - good cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
made as directed, but made mini's (bake time 15 minutes). they were a huge hit - every one got eaten, most people ate two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made these for my mexican party and they were a HUGE hit! I'm not sure if I am an under-icer but with 24 cupcakes, I still had half the icing left over...so I just made a cake and finished the icing off. Win win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States