Cinco de Chili Chocolate Cupcakes with Chili Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Just made these this morning for a small gathering. I wanted to try something new and different for my guests. Very delicious. The sweet balances the heat perfectly. As another reviewer said; I didn't need all the frosting. I used about 2/3 of what the recipe yielded. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I tried this last night & these are fantastic! Just the right amount of kick. Even my 9 year old loved them! The cream cheese frosting is a good compliment to the heat of the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These cupcakes were good, just not great and my opinion is it's because of the box mix rather than from scratch. I couldn't find ancho chili pepper, but a friend brought me dried pasilla chilis, which I ground myself. The cupcakes could use a little more heat, so don't be afraid to bump up the peppers if you like spicy. I will make them again from scratch. I think a dark chocolate cocoa would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I was disappointed after reading all the reviews, with how lame these were. I followed the recipe and they tasted fine - but I didn't tell anyone what they were and everyone guessed they were plain chocolate cupcakes. Certainly not enough 'kick' and the frosting was not that appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is my recipe and I was requested to make 50 for an event in Eugene. I amped up the Ancho and Cayenne ground pepper per request to two teaspoons Ancho and 1/2 teaspoon Cayenne in the CC batter. Actually, I thought it tasted good and was still not too hot for this wimp. That's why I like this recipe. Make it as you like... less pepper powder or more. Of course I made some for hubby too! He liked the spicer version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Keep these for just a few hours before eating them---if you can! I think the flavors set much better when you give them a little time. These were just delicious! I used a Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge box mix (and I hardly ever use box mixes!), and made 52 mini cupcakes, baking them at 350 for 14 minutes. Everything else was done just as the well-written recipe stated. I took them to a school for the teachers' first day back, and they were a total success! I can't believe I waited so long to make these cupcakes! Thanks, Candice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Delish!! If you like spice in your life, you'll love these! I added additional ancho chile and cayenne pepper for the spicy lovin' folks. Well worth the time it takes to make these ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Made a cake with this recipe for my chili head husband's birthday. I added extra spice for his taste and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcy DiBattiste
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for a church gathering and they were awesome! I used a gluten free betty crocker devil's food and they turned out perfectly. Didn't stray from the recipe at all. Even the kids loved them! I don't like spicy food but these had just enough kick and perfect flavor. Every single one was gone in no time at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy DiBattiste

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Converse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Loved it! Very moist cupcake, but I definitely added more cayenne and ancho to the cupcake and frosting to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States