Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Very easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Castle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is ok chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
First, let me say I think I have discovered the secret ingrediant! While it may not be perfect, I think I got pretty dang close... This was a good recipe for a start... but being very familiar with the way Skyline tastes and the texture- they don't have this right. I added about a cup and a half of water and I used a hand blender (on the finished product) to get it to the right consistency. This recipe must have forgotten to add any water, because it is waaaaay too thick. I would decrease the chili powder to about half. I added 2 pinches of cinnamon and 2 pinches of cocoa powder (per other's recommendations). I also added about a teaspoon and a 1/2 of what I think is the secret- curry powder. I didn't use onions or beans because I like my skyline as a "3-way" (spaghetti, chili, and cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Didn't really taste like Skyline. It wasn't bad but my husband though it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is very good chili but definately not Skyline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Sorry, this Ohioan has say that while this may be a chili, it's just not really Cincinnati Skyline Chili. Just a few of the differences: The meat should be boiled in water (not browned) to break it down to a fine texture; the spice list isn't quite right; there should be little to no chili powder; and it needs to have cocoa powder added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanerdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I NEVER NEVER NEVER brown the meat. That ruins this for me and anyone who's had the real thing. Boil the meat along with the other incredients and serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pizzafreak
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
After reading other reviews I made a lot of changes & it turned out wonderful. With the tweaks I made to the basic recipe it is very authentic tasting. I only used 1 lb ground beef & boiled it with the onions. I used a mixer for meat but I think next time I'll use the food processor. I used only 1 tablespoon of chili powder & added much more cinnamon. I also added about 3 Tbsp of cocoa powder & little nutmeg. I used 2 -15 oz cans of tomato sauce. A lot of work, but worth it! I topped it with onion & cheddar & served it with "Sweet Corn Cake" from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pizzafreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
If you are looking for a true"skyline chili" I will give a few hints that I remember as a child. I worked for Skyline in my teen yrs. I know that they boil meat not fry and also you must add cinnamon and baking unsweetened cocoa. If I remember right there were about 16 different things we added in all. I do know cocoa and cinnamon is a must have. I lived in cincy most of my life. Anyone from that area knows you always add cocoa and cinnamon. I hope this is help for for those of you looking for a true Skyline chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This is as good a recipe for Skyline chili as you'll find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States