Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This is my favorite Chili recipe! Everyone loved it! I only put in 1 pound of beef and added another can of tomatoe sauce. It is spicy so if you serve it to kids you might want to cut the chili powder in half. The taste is still great even with less chili powder! I've already made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
Excellent recipe! Tastes very good..Interesting use of spices. And it made plenty of leftovers A+++ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PONYGIRL64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
Very easy and delicious. This will be a repeat selection at my house. I cut the ground beef to one pound, and between me and my husband (and the dog) there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This isn't really my favorite kind of food, but my husband absolutely loved it! He mentioned that this chili would also be good used as a sloppy joe type of sandwich filling. We may try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is so good I have to give out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This is one of my all time favorite recipes. I grew up in the midwest and this was a staple in our home. My husband is from Southern California and had never heard of this type of chili. He wasn't too crazy about it at first, but now he LOVES it. We have this once a week in winter. This recipes also freezes well (without the noodles) I pile my chili high with cheddar cheese and oyester crackers. In fact, I'm making this tonight for dinner. YUM!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
There are a couple problems with this recipe. First, the real Skyline chili doesn't have this much chili powder if any at all. Second and more serious is that it is way too dry, as a couple people here already mentioned. I have checked a dozen or more Skyline recipes on the internet and most of them mention adding 3 cups or 1 quart of water, which would make the consistancy more like that of Skyline's. As the recipe is here, there is not enough liquid, and it is more like a thick paste. Either this recipe has not been tried by the auther, or she left something out when she typed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I grew up in cincinnati ohio and skyline chili is my all time favorite dinner and it has been since I was about ten and now i'm 20. so now I can make it anytime I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I've been to Cincinnati and had their Skyline Chili- and this recipe is very authentic!! Very hearty, filling, and simple to make. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Heggli-Scholl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This recipe was great, but we elected to make a few changes to suit our tastes better. Firstly, instead of one clove of garlic, we used four. We used around a full tablespoon of cinnamon to make it stand out more in the end. Plus, about a full tablespoon of cayenne was used to give it some more heat. Finally, we cooked the beans in with the chili because it seemed to need some extra liquid. I suppose leaving the beans until serving time would have worked, but everyone wanted them anyway. Other than those minor changes (and we used fresh pasta) this recipe is fantastic. It picks up Skyline Chili by the shirt collar and smacks it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States