Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
Excellent recipe! Tastes very good..Interesting use of spices. And it made plenty of leftovers A+++ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PONYGIRL64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This recipe was delicious, and I will be using it again. Not living near any "Skyline Chili" restaurants (it is available frozen in some supermarkets near me, however), yet very fond of their chili, I was very glad to stumble on this authentic-tasting recipe. I didn't get the consistency right on this first making, and, should this happen again, might proportionally increase the tomato sauce and spices or cut the amount of meat in subsequent preparations. The thicker consistency I got would be perfect for a "Skyline coney dog", I think. Thank you, Rennie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
This is my favorite Chili recipe! Everyone loved it! I only put in 1 pound of beef and added another can of tomatoe sauce. It is spicy so if you serve it to kids you might want to cut the chili powder in half. The taste is still great even with less chili powder! I've already made it several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
Very easy and delicious. This will be a repeat selection at my house. I cut the ground beef to one pound, and between me and my husband (and the dog) there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
My husband absolutely loves this dish and says it tastes just like he remembers Skyline Chili tasting! However, getting that consistency right perplexes me. I've made it twice and it seems to come out more like meaty tomato paste rather than like spaghetti sauce. I even tried cutting the meat portion in half, but it's still very thick and pasty. Flavorful though! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
This isn't really my favorite kind of food, but my husband absolutely loved it! He mentioned that this chili would also be good used as a sloppy joe type of sandwich filling. We may try that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOURMETMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lathrop, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Guess it's something of an acquired taste... Tasted like an odd spaghetti sauce to me, not 'chili'. Not totally bad, but I'll stick to how I'm used to chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I couldn't taste anything but chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This is a great recipe but the meat should not be browned. You should mix the dry ingredents with the the liquids and mix in the meat also instead of 2 cans of tomato sause use 1 can of sause and i can of paste, bring to a rolling boil the reduce and simmer for about and hour to hour and a half. the meat will melt in you mouth. Try it like this i promise it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This is so good I have to give out the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States