Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My family loved it. We recently visited (ok 6 times while on a 3 week vacation) the Hard Times Cafe is Old Town Alexandria Va. My kids loved the Cincinnati Chili Mac and were amazed it had Cinnamon in it. I followed some of the recommendations in the comments like adding Cocoa powder. I added petite diced tomatoes (1/2 a 28oz can), 1/2 a 28 oz can of tomatoe sauce, 1 1/2 tsp Cinnamon, 2 galic cloves, and 1/1/2 tsp cocoa. I served this with cheese and sour cream. Yumm! This kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Very easy, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
following this recipe will give you a basic chili. "Cincinnati Chili" (i.e. "Skyline") chili, is much juicier... I would suggest NOT browning the meat first; let it cook in the sauce, stirring constantly. (hint; use a hand-held mixer to finely shred the meat in early cooking stage). Some folks have suggested adding beans to the sauce during cooking - that's not how we do it in Cincy. the basic chili is "garnished" with the addition of beans, finely chopped onions, & finely shredded cheddar cheese. Adding all of these garnishes yields a "4-Way", adding any two = a "3-way", etc. I have never seen olives used as a garnish with this dish, but I suppose that could work - just not authentic! use plenty of cocoa powder for that Cincinnati-caffeine kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt.Rock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This recipe was really easy and REALLY delicious! The flavors mixed perfectly and (thank GOD) it wasn't too cumin-y. I hate chili with too much cumin! I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and added a 15oz can of diced tomatoes in addition to the tomato sauce. Gave it a little extra juice without making it too saucy. I also used soy ground instead of ground beef (make sure to add 1-2TBSP vegetable oil when browning with onion since soy ground doesn't have any "natural" oil). Sooo good. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian J.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I did add a 28 OZ. can of tomato sauce to the chili rather than 2 8 oz. cans. I like my chili saucier. I also broke the spaghetti into smaller pieces, boiled it, then mixed it right into the chili along with the beans. I had company over this weekend and they devoured it! The "corn dog muffin" recipe on here goes really well with this. I will make this again! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
This recipe was great, but we elected to make a few changes to suit our tastes better. Firstly, instead of one clove of garlic, we used four. We used around a full tablespoon of cinnamon to make it stand out more in the end. Plus, about a full tablespoon of cayenne was used to give it some more heat. Finally, we cooked the beans in with the chili because it seemed to need some extra liquid. I suppose leaving the beans until serving time would have worked, but everyone wanted them anyway. Other than those minor changes (and we used fresh pasta) this recipe is fantastic. It picks up Skyline Chili by the shirt collar and smacks it around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I'm in agreement with other reviewers--way too thick, nothing like the real Skyline Chili. The flavor was good, but still not like the original. I'll keep looking for their dry mix--they had it in grocery stores at one time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I've been to Cincinnati and had their Skyline Chili- and this recipe is very authentic!! Very hearty, filling, and simple to make. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIESCHOLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Very good but not quite skyline. This is only the second recipe I've tried and it's far better than the first one I made. It's missing something, but it's just as good as a mix/envelope. I didn't brown the beef and added a bit of water. I also added a little cocoa and extra vinegar which I thought made it a little closer but still no cigar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
Good! I followed one reviewers suggestions and didn't brown the meat. It was fine and eliminated a step. I think it was a tad bit dry. Not sure quite how to fix it. Its been a few years since I have had the real thing so not sure how to compare, but I will say that it is good enough to have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States