Cincinnati Skyline Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This recipe lacks some key ingredients that are crucial in making Cincinnati Style Chili. One being chocolate and the other being nutmeg. Also you should never ever brown the beef, cook it within the sauce for about 6 hours. Meat will be cooked throughly and be at the consistancy that makes Cincinnati style chili one of a kind and famous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENTUCKYJO
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
it was not skyline chili but it was a good homemade chili. i added some dried chili peppers to the recipe and took them back out before serving the dish. it made it real spicy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
really spicy/pungent must serve over spaghetti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Being born and raised in the Cincinnati area, I grew up on Skyline Chili and I love it. This recipe does not even come close!!! I could go on and on about what is wrong with it but the end result tells the story.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
True Cincinnati Chili (Skyline) does not use chili powder or brown the ground beef and onions. Many years ago I read an article from the owner of Skyline. This original greek recipe prides itself in not using chile powder and it boils the meat and onion. Try it you should enjoy the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe as written and like many others I thought it needed more sauce. Family liked the flavor (I only used about half the chili powder) and said they would eat it again if I fixed it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This recipe was great. Tastes just like Skyline. I did take the advice of some of the other users and I cooked the ground beef in water and broke it up really fine with a whisk. I left the water in and then added the other ingredients and doubled the amount of tomato sauce so it was runnier. Yummy! I also added a little more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This recipe was okay. I added a cup of water, as others commented that the chili was a little too thick. I also chopped the browned ground beef/onion in a food processor. Additionally, I used a little less chili powder and added a couple shots of cayenne pepper sauce and a pinch of unsweetened cocoa powder. My husband thought that this was good, but commented that the flavors didn't meld together quite as well as Skyline. He said that it was "Cincinnati-style" but definitely no Skyline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Adding cinnamon doesn't make it Cincinnati style chili. The ground beef should be cooked in with the boiling water, spices and juice, never browned and then you need to use a hand mixer to chop up the ground beef into a finer texture. Chocolate is a must (bakers chocolate...) This tasted good, but it wasn't Cincinnati style chili... Look elsewhere if you want something closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barnold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I agree wth CKruse's review. Don't brown the meat first (let it brown as it cooks) and use a hand blender (like a Braun) to grind the meat up finely. And for me, I use pinto beans on top of the spaghetti... not mixed in. Plus be sure to use lots of finely-shredded cheddar cheese. It should melt on top of the chili and sort of 'bond' to the chili, so you can cut a bit of the chili and lift it off the plate. (And also, don't put it in a deep cereal-style bowl... serve it on a plate with a bit of a rim to it, so you can cut a bite off and scoop it up. True Cinci chili lovers don't twist their spaghetti on their fork... they cut and lift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States