Cincinnati Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
4 1/2: really good, but heavy (cincy chili always is I guess). Need to add the beans to make it 5-way. Did the boil technique from the comments and added 2 cups beef broth twice. Other than that, followed recipe as is for boxing day dinner w/ family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
tastes just like Skyline chili! The spices should probably be amped up a little. I'll double them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This recipe is the ultimate Tailgate chili. Its traditionally toped on spaghetti but we like it on hebrew nation hotdogs toped with cheese onions and tobasco hot sauce. My Boys literally beg me to make this every football get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I used 1.25 lb ground turkey (browned in a skillet) and 2 cans of pinto beans instead of the ground beef. I know it's not authentic that way but I knew we'd prefer it that way and it's my kitchen. Also used 1/4 C chocolate chips stirred in shortly before serving. Mine cooked in a slow cooker for about 5 hours and it turned out really, really well! Just perfect. The cinnamon, allspice, cloves and chocolate were so good and subtle and everything just came together really well. Heck, I tasted it right after I put everything in the crock pot and it was good then too! I brought the chili to a potluck that had a noodle theme and it was different from all the other offerings (which were all Italian). Everyone else liked it too. Will definitely make it again. Next time I'll try boiling the meat but I'm still going to use ground turkey and pinto beans :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I can't speak to authenticity, but this chili is delicious. The first time I made it I mixed up my spice jars and added 1/4c of cayenne - oops!! I had to double everything else to make it edible. Since then I double the *actual* cayenne this calls for and it has a nice kick, but doesn't kick you in the face like that first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I didn't much care for this, but I'm not big on chili. My husband, however, loves chili, and he thought this was great. He went back for seconds and is looking forward to eating the leftovers tomorrow. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the overnight refrigeration. Instead, I just simmered it for a long time. I guess we will try the overnight refrigeration step tonight and see how the leftovers turn out tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was really good! My husband was craving the Skyline Chili we had in Cincinnati and this was just as good! I did as other reviews suggested and cooked the raw meat (95% lean) in the beef stock to break it down more. Also kept onions raw to add as a topping. Definite keeper and sure to be crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
My boyfriend discovered an easy variation for leftover Cincy Chili. All you need is a box of Deluxe Kraft Macaroni and Cheese, the kind with the soft cheese packet. Prepare according to the box instructions and stir in one half cup of warmed chili. You can add more chili if you like :) This is a great way to make 3 way chili fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Amazing and even better left over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Mac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I thought this was great as did my boyfriend who probably eats Skyline about once a week! He did agree it was a little different but liked it all the same. Couple of changes - no onion, boiled the meat in the stock and tomato sauce rather than browned, added about 1 tsp of garlic powder, 2T of cocoa rather than the chocolate, less cinnamon probably 1/2 tsp as it is not my most favorite spice. I also used ground turkey and chicken stock rather than the beef. Next time I will use my immersion blender to get a thinner consistency. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States