Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This side dish is a winner and once I had my first bite I knew that this would be going onto my favorites list. The sweetness of the corn with the butter, the little bit of heat from the pepper and the crisp flavor of the cilantro are a great combination for goodness. I used a bag of Trader Joe's fire roasted corn witch added even more flavor. I cut the butter down to two tablespoons, putting the butter and the corn in a bowl and microwaving it for three minutes. I substituted a Serrano chili for the Jalapeno and it gave it some very nice heat. I will be making this one throughout the summer. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Photo by DebiHolcomb
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I added a little bell pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Used half the butter and it was still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I scaled this down to two ears of corn. Not wanting raw onion, I sauteed it with the jalapeno for ~ 8 min in butter. I then added the corn, tomato and cilantro and cooked for a few min and added salt and pepper. I tossed it with a dressing of olive oil, lime juice and a bit of sugar. I forgot to add the garlic and added it after the fact. To be honest, it tasted better without it. Very nice blend of different flavors. Thanks Ds R!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Everyone loves this recipe, there is nothing like fresh corn. The only change I made was to put the onions in a microwaveable bowl and put the butter on top then melted it. It cooked and softens the onions a bit. This is a great alternative to corn on the cob or a great way to use leftover corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Was really good..will maybe try a bit less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is an EXCELLENT side dish. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is tasty either as a side dish or as a garnish for other meat or seafood. I don't know that the butter is particularly necessary. Yes, it may add a slight richness to the flavor, but it also adds calories too. I will probably leave the butter out or reduce it next time. I used fresh tomatoes, corn, and jalapeno peppers, which really jacked up the freshness factor of this recipe. It's refreshing and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Oh yum! I just happened to have a bunch of fresh cilantro and a couple of tomatoes that were needing to be used when I stumbled upon this recipe. I saute the onion & garlic in 2 T. olive oil as I want to eat this chilled (if it lasts that long) and reading other reviews, it sounds like the butter doesn't quite work well on the chilled salad. The I added 3 cups thawed corn, a can of black beans (rinsed), and since I was out of lemon pepper seasoning, I just added lemon juice and pepper. Took everything off the heat and added the cilantro, tomatoes, a diced green onion, and some salt. Then since it seemed to still be missing some flavor, I added a little (a couple taps maybe?) bit of lime juice. Very good. Light and guilt free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
We enjoyed this very much. I served it warm, added spices to give it some heat...cayenne pepper and cumin (one of my favorite spices). A nice accompaniment to our 4th of July meal. Used frozen corn and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States