Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Love this sauce! Awesome and so full of flavor. I served it on top of grilled chicken tacos but I can definetly see this being great on fish tacos. I hate using cream for anything so I decided I had to sub half and half for it. Of course it came out rather thin so I took an extra step and threw everything in a saucepan, added 1 tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in a little water. It thickened beautifully and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Seriously good! My store didn't have serrano so I used jalapeno, left some membranes in for heat and used low fat half and half. Served over sauteed tilapia, but I can see using this in other ways as well. Did I mention that I loved it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turbogal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This stuff was amazing with chicken enchiladas the other night. I had no intended use for the leftovers, but was determined not to toss them. Yesterday, I found myself devouring a bag of tortilla chips with them while I cooked. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
The is awesome! I roasted the chillies, and removed the charred skin and seeds. I alsoadded juice from 1/2 a lime and 3/4 tsp of sugar. Very good on top of fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krazykhat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very tasty. Now I don't have to run to Sharky's restaurant when I'm craving a gourmet fish burrito. I used this sauce in a shrimp burrito... and so good. I ended up freezing the left over sauce in small baggies rather than throw it away and it tastes very fresh still. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tired MOM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Outstanding! Used FF 1/2 & 1/2 and low fat mayo ... 4 serranos and 4 cloves of garlic ... 3/4 of a bunch of cilantro. I poured it over Tilapia and baked them. Served with rice and roasted asparagus. We just LOVED this sauce ... next time I'll add at least 1 more serrano pepper. After dinner we were looking for a snack and ate this with tortilla chips ... delicious that way also! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Fabulous sauce. Can use it on chicken or pork. It is great as a dip for veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a really good sauce. I was unable to get serrano peppers, so I opted for chili peppers. I roasted them in a 450 oven...cook on sheet untill blisters remove then let "sweat" in a sealed plastic bag for 15 min. Based on the reviews, I too used lime juice. It went great on black bean veggie burgers with avocado. I can't wait to share this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I followed everything except used two peppers...Next time I will use one. Tastes a lot like the mexican caesar dressing at El Torito...all you need is some toasted Pepitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was really good. I served it with "Lime Chicken Soft Tacos" and as a dip for tortilla chips. If I was to use it as a dip again, I would omit the salt in the sauce because the chips made it salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States