Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
The is awesome! I roasted the chillies, and removed the charred skin and seeds. I alsoadded juice from 1/2 a lime and 3/4 tsp of sugar. Very good on top of fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krazykhat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Saratoga Springs, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I've decided I really like this. I followed this recipe exactly and let it meld a day or so. I used it on some broiled tilapia filets and it was good. DH said it tastes a little bit like a spicy ranch dip. (?) I think next time I'll do as Krazykhat suggested and add a squeeze of lime. My husband and I both think this would make a great dip for a veggie tray. I'm glad I tried it. This recipe will come in handy. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Love this sauce! Awesome and so full of flavor. I served it on top of grilled chicken tacos but I can definetly see this being great on fish tacos. I hate using cream for anything so I decided I had to sub half and half for it. Of course it came out rather thin so I took an extra step and threw everything in a saucepan, added 1 tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in a little water. It thickened beautifully and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Fabulous sauce. Can use it on chicken or pork. It is great as a dip for veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This stuff was amazing with chicken enchiladas the other night. I had no intended use for the leftovers, but was determined not to toss them. Yesterday, I found myself devouring a bag of tortilla chips with them while I cooked. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a really good sauce. I was unable to get serrano peppers, so I opted for chili peppers. I roasted them in a 450 oven...cook on sheet untill blisters remove then let "sweat" in a sealed plastic bag for 15 min. Based on the reviews, I too used lime juice. It went great on black bean veggie burgers with avocado. I can't wait to share this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Outstanding! Used FF 1/2 & 1/2 and low fat mayo ... 4 serranos and 4 cloves of garlic ... 3/4 of a bunch of cilantro. I poured it over Tilapia and baked them. Served with rice and roasted asparagus. We just LOVED this sauce ... next time I'll add at least 1 more serrano pepper. After dinner we were looking for a snack and ate this with tortilla chips ... delicious that way also! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was good, but not anything spectacular. I didn't have serrano chiles so I used regular chiles. I used half cream and half milk and it came out just fine. I mixed it up in some veggies and pasta. It's a great quick dish. I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very tasty. Now I don't have to run to Sharky's restaurant when I'm craving a gourmet fish burrito. I used this sauce in a shrimp burrito... and so good. I ended up freezing the left over sauce in small baggies rather than throw it away and it tastes very fresh still. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tired MOM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Pollak06
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This seemed a lot more like a dip than a cream sauce. It was just okay, it was the mayo that makes it 3 star, it didn't seem to go with the rest of the ingredients, at least to me & seemed to throw it all off. I might try sour cream next time & see if that works better. Thanks for the inspiration! PS....when you are working with the chilies make sure to !!!WEAR GLOVES!!! I made that mistake & my hands were honestly red & stinging/burning for 2 days. It was horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Pollak06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States