Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Super hot and super delicious. So easy to make. I threw everything in the food processor and it was ready in just a couple of minutes. I used sour cream instead of the heavy cream...1. to make it thicker and 2. that is what I had on hand. Best served chilled, we thought. I think I will use a whole bunch of cilantro next time. But great as is. Served with Chipotle Shrimp Tacos from this site. Huge hit with both my son and myself. Plan to use leftovers for other meats...maybe chicken tomorrow. Thanks Luci!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is the best sauce. My whole family loved it. I think I will use only 2 cloves of garlic next time. I'm goingt to try a chicken pizza using this as this base. Store bought rotisserie chicken, this sauce and your imagination. Great recipe, glad I tried it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Seriously good! My store didn't have serrano so I used jalapeno, left some membranes in for heat and used low fat half and half. Served over sauteed tilapia, but I can see using this in other ways as well. Did I mention that I loved it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turbogal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was really good. I served it with "Lime Chicken Soft Tacos" and as a dip for tortilla chips. If I was to use it as a dip again, I would omit the salt in the sauce because the chips made it salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I followed everything except used two peppers...Next time I will use one. Tastes a lot like the mexican caesar dressing at El Torito...all you need is some toasted Pepitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I made half the recipe and then changed it a bit. I used the whole bunch of cilantro, 4 cloves garlic and 2 large serranos, 2/3 cup f f 1/2 & 1/2, and the 1 cup of reg mayo. I used this sauce over sauteed tilapia. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This stuff is awesome. We use it for shrimp tacos and also just to dip chips in. I make a vegan version for food allergy reason and it works great. I use veganaise instead of regular mayo and sour supreme instead of the heavy cream. I also use half the amount of chilis, but that is just perference. I was really glad to find this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by polly625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Pollak06
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This seemed a lot more like a dip than a cream sauce. It was just okay, it was the mayo that makes it 3 star, it didn't seem to go with the rest of the ingredients, at least to me & seemed to throw it all off. I might try sour cream next time & see if that works better. Thanks for the inspiration! PS....when you are working with the chilies make sure to !!!WEAR GLOVES!!! I made that mistake & my hands were honestly red & stinging/burning for 2 days. It was horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Pollak06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very tasty. Now I don't have to run to Sharky's restaurant when I'm craving a gourmet fish burrito. I used this sauce in a shrimp burrito... and so good. I ended up freezing the left over sauce in small baggies rather than throw it away and it tastes very fresh still. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tired MOM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was good, but not anything spectacular. I didn't have serrano chiles so I used regular chiles. I used half cream and half milk and it came out just fine. I mixed it up in some veggies and pasta. It's a great quick dish. I would recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States