Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Rather than mayo and heavy cream (+lots of fat and calories!) I used 1 cup greek yogurt, didn't seed my serrano's (like the heat!), added a small, peeled cucumber and a tomato (just happened to have these from the garden on the counter) and puree all together. Didn't add salt or pepper. Served on fish tacos, and it was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Awesome stuff! Had half and half on hand, so used half cup of that, with half cup sour cream.....used 5 garlic cloves...yum... and almost a full bunch of cilantro, everything else the same.. Thickened up nicely, perfect for a squeeze bottle. Going to check it out on grilled chicken tacos tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I have tried many receipies this is the best by far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
OMG! This sauce is wonderful! There is a mexican Restaurant in Houston (Chewy's) that has a similar sauce called creamy jalepeno, this sauce is VERY close. I made it exactly as written and it couldn't have been easier to make. I thought it would be too spicy for me but it wasn't hot at all. I think next time I might try adding a couple more serano peppers and maybe more cilantro. (I love cilantro) I wonder if this freezes well? I'm going to try it.....If I could give this more than 5 stars I would...did I mention how good it is??? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rm2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I've made this numerous times now and it is truly fantastic as a dip as well as a sauce. I have used it on chiken, pork and as an alternative to mayo for Turkey sandwiches. If you are looking to cut the fat substitute lowfat plain yogurt for 1/2 Mayo and try 1/2 cup of fat free 1/2 & 1/2. You can also substitue a hotter pepper if you like. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DocDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
LOVED this. Used as a dip but this would be great on fish like others have suggested. I am going to change it up a little. Use sour cream next time and roast the serranos with onions. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Renz Cummings

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Remember to wear gloves when chopping up those serranos people!!! This is a delicious sauce and would have given it 5 stars, but my hands are still burning like crazy from scraping out the seeds with my fingernails...BIG mistake! My husband eats it like a dip and loves it, but I'm not that brave...it's more like a hot sauce to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I used Brown Cow Cream Top Plain yogurt instead of cream. I used 1/2 C lowfat mayo and 1/2C regular mayo. Everything else the same. My Serranos and garlic cloves were really big so it was nice and spicy. No salt and pepper needed. I used this on grilled mahi tacos. It's saucy, not like a dip. Excellent! Just the sauce I've been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
We've made this many times. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Wonderful would have given it five but I left ourt the mayp and used sour cream with a dash of sugar. Lovely to dipp mojo chicken in. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States