Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great recipe! We are trying to cut back on the fat, so I substituted sour cream for the mayo and heavy cream (which sounds delicious). We like it spicy, so I added more serrano (two full with a few seeds) for an eight serving batch. This was a perfect topping for our fish tacos, and made and incredible dip for the artichokes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
We really loved this! I used lite mayo because that was what i had on hand, i might try using sour cream instead next time to add a bit of tang. Or maybe just a squeeze of lime juice to brighten it up a bit. We used this instead of mayo on our garden burgers, i'm already running through ideas on what to make tomorrow so we can utilize the rest of this dip! Seriously was delicious! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taniaf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I really enjoyed this. I served it over some chicken tacos. I think it would make a lovely dip with tortilla chips or carrot sticks too. I subbed the cream for low fat sour cream and used low fat mayo rather than regular. You can vary the heat by changing up the size, amount, and type of fresh peppers you use. I used jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Great idea for cilantro and garlic! I tried it another way for piping into little pickled sweet peppers: I just used one 8oz brick softened cream cheese, one bunch cilantro and 2 cloves garlic with about 1/2t salt. Threw it all into the processor and let it blend til light green, then chilled, scooped it into a ziplock bag, snipped the tip and used it for the pepper filling. Beautiful little appetizer with an excellent taste, really complemented the pickled sweet red peppers. Filled about 30 pepper with some left over for crackers. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I have to admit, I was very skeptical of this recipe when I first found it, but I decided to make it anyway. Honestly, I'm glad I did! This is fabulous! I didn't have any heavy cream, so I used sour cream. I served this with southwestern egg rolls (another recipe from this site) and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Wow! Yum! We ate it on fish tacos and by itself on chips. The raw garlic reinforces the heat of the peppers in an interesting way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Rather than mayo and heavy cream (+lots of fat and calories!) I used 1 cup greek yogurt, didn't seed my serrano's (like the heat!), added a small, peeled cucumber and a tomato (just happened to have these from the garden on the counter) and puree all together. Didn't add salt or pepper. Served on fish tacos, and it was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Awesome stuff! Had half and half on hand, so used half cup of that, with half cup sour cream.....used 5 garlic cloves...yum... and almost a full bunch of cilantro, everything else the same.. Thickened up nicely, perfect for a squeeze bottle. Going to check it out on grilled chicken tacos tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I have tried many receipies this is the best by far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
OMG! This sauce is wonderful! There is a mexican Restaurant in Houston (Chewy's) that has a similar sauce called creamy jalepeno, this sauce is VERY close. I made it exactly as written and it couldn't have been easier to make. I thought it would be too spicy for me but it wasn't hot at all. I think next time I might try adding a couple more serano peppers and maybe more cilantro. (I love cilantro) I wonder if this freezes well? I'm going to try it.....If I could give this more than 5 stars I would...did I mention how good it is??? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rm2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States