Cilantro Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was the first recipe I've tried at allrecipes.com, and I was very pleased. I was a little confused about the Rice-a-Roni "yellow rice." I didn't see that in my store, so I grabbed a box of chicken flavored Rice-a-Roni. The chicken broth can was just shy of 2 cups, and I wasn't sure if I was supposed to drain the stewed tomatoes. Make sure to taste test the rice after cooking for 30 minutes, mine was still crunchy. Overall, this recipe was fantastic, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This recipe is delish! Made exactly as stated except used green pepper instead of red. Tastes like a restaurant recipe! Even better the days after. My husband wouldn't have given it 5 stars but he's not a veggie guy. =( The only thing I wish I'd have known was how HUGE a batch this made. It's not for "just the two of us" unless you both love it and could eat it for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was really good! I didn't have any fresh cilantro, and I know it would have made it just that much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda Cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Even my cilantro-hating fiance likes this recipe. Just be careful, because this recipe makes a LOT of food (especially since I only cook for two). That's okay with us, though, because we love the leftovers through the rest of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
5/2010 Update:Have made the several times, this time I used the recipe for Chipoltle Marinated Chicken with chicken breasts and grilled them and cut them into small pieces...OMG! Now it's a 10 star recipe!The only thing I did differently was to add leftover chicken and some cumin. I also added the cilantro in at the end to keep it green and fresh tasting. It does make a lot but my kids have already asked me to make another batch! They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe is absolutely awesome! I made it for 4 servings and by the time I was done my roommate was already checking to see if I had enough ingredients left over to make her own batch! I definitely recommend cutting down on the cayenne and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I ran across this wonderful recipe, when I was looking for a last minute idea for supper. I did have to modify the recipe some to match the items I had on hand, but the family loved it regardless. I didn't have the yellow rice, so I rinsed some white basmanti rice in water for about a minute and half and then sauteed in oil in a medium-hot skillet until golden brown. I added a can of rotel and some chicken broth to the rice and simmered until tender about 20 minutes. Meanwhile in a second pan, I cooked the onion, garlic and about a 1/2 tsp of cumin. I added 2 cans of canned chicken breast that I had previously lightly rinsed and coated with taco seasoning. Then added frozen corn, the black beans and another separate can of rotel. I warmed all the ingredients together and added the rice mixture when it was done. I didn't have cilantro, but next time I will be sure to have some because I am sure it would improve the flavor. Anyways, the kids ate it with tortillas, and told me to be sure and write this down so I could make it again. Husband loved it too and said it was about the right amount of heat for him. Thanks for this tasty and versatile recipe! Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I used fresh tomatoes (8 plum) and added yellow curry powder. Everyone loved it! I don't think the flour on the chicken made any difference, will make it without it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
very simple, great flavor. My 2 year old even ate it. I used long-grain white rice, added extra water, & it was still crunchy after simmering for 1 hour. Next time, I won't drain the beans, corn, or green chilis for the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow - This recipe is awesomely yummy! I made a few changes like adding 1/2 pkg Pace taco seasoning into the flour the chicken is dredged in (I also put a little into the rice mixture), only used 1 can black beans (this is to compromise with my non-bean loving husband) and cutting back on the tomatoes (for my non-tomato loving daughter). I used white basmati rice instead of the rice mix. I served with a little grated Colby-Jack melted on top. Thanks so much for this recipe, I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States