Cilantro Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
very simple, great flavor. My 2 year old even ate it. I used long-grain white rice, added extra water, & it was still crunchy after simmering for 1 hour. Next time, I won't drain the beans, corn, or green chilis for the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I used fresh tomatoes (8 plum) and added yellow curry powder. Everyone loved it! I don't think the flour on the chicken made any difference, will make it without it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Good recipe. Substituted brown rice for the yellow rice. Had to cook a bit longer and add a little more chicken broth. Just diced my chicken breast and sauted in a little olive oil. Didn't dredge in flour.Good, filling and pretty healthy. will make again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend and me, and we both had second helpings. I didn't have any beans, so I left them out. I used a green pepper instead of red, and only about half the cilantro, and I didn't have any cayenne pepper. I added fresh corn, which was a delicious seasonal touch to the meal. It was way easy (only one pot) and very tasty. My only complaint was that it didn't reheat well at all. I will make it again, probably with beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I ran across this wonderful recipe, when I was looking for a last minute idea for supper. I did have to modify the recipe some to match the items I had on hand, but the family loved it regardless. I didn't have the yellow rice, so I rinsed some white basmanti rice in water for about a minute and half and then sauteed in oil in a medium-hot skillet until golden brown. I added a can of rotel and some chicken broth to the rice and simmered until tender about 20 minutes. Meanwhile in a second pan, I cooked the onion, garlic and about a 1/2 tsp of cumin. I added 2 cans of canned chicken breast that I had previously lightly rinsed and coated with taco seasoning. Then added frozen corn, the black beans and another separate can of rotel. I warmed all the ingredients together and added the rice mixture when it was done. I didn't have cilantro, but next time I will be sure to have some because I am sure it would improve the flavor. Anyways, the kids ate it with tortillas, and told me to be sure and write this down so I could make it again. Husband loved it too and said it was about the right amount of heat for him. Thanks for this tasty and versatile recipe! Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe is absolutely awesome! I made it for 4 servings and by the time I was done my roommate was already checking to see if I had enough ingredients left over to make her own batch! I definitely recommend cutting down on the cayenne and chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VEERNNYR
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Warned that this makes a huge amount (and not wanting a lot of left-overs), I cut back on the quantity of rice. I eye-balled 5 oz. of the rice. I used regular medium grain rice. I left out the red pepper and pinto beans (didn't have on hand). I added the kernels from a left-over cob of corn. I upped the "heat" with a can of tomato-green chilis. WHEW!! HOT! I made it in my cast iron pan which made the rice kinda crunchy on the bottom. Thank God I didn't add the extra beans and all the rice, it would never have fit in the pan. For a one dish recipe, this is a great jumping-off point. Add... subtract, go for it! PS:If you get a bunch of cilantro, use the whole thing, never mind tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEERNNYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
As a new member of an organic farm, I was "stuck" with some cilantro. I found this recipe and was pleased since my husband likes rice and I only had to use one skillet! I found the yellow rice in the Goya/Mexican section of the food store; it actually came in a yellow colored bag. I reserved some chicken on the side thinking the recipe would be too strong for our baby; yet she refused to eat her own and wanted ours. I gave her a small taste and she LOVED it! The recipe states "serves 8" and it means 8 hearty servings. I froze some leftovers and it made a great meal a second time. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
was OK. too many cans of beans added make it too much. Couldn't find the "yellow rice", so used the short grain while - came out too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I found it bland and I even added a bit of cumin and chili powder. I also let it stew too long which made the whole skillet mixture mushy. I agree with the reviewer who added the cilantro at the end to keep it fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States