Cilantro Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
this is delicious! instead of black beans, i used black-eyed peas and a little less cayenne. next time i will cube the chicken after browning. i made this with a side of cornbread and the tangy cucumber and avocado salad!A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I halved it because there were only the two of us to eat it. I could have quartered it and still had enough for leftovers for days. I did not change a single item! Loved it. Will be making it again tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Sorry, this was only OK. I followed the recipe exactly except didn't have pinto beans. Towards the end of cooking, I tasted it and then adjusted the seasonings accordingly -- added a little cumin and some curry powder. This helped, but still just didn't have the flavor I had hoped for. The good part was that my sons and husband ate it with no objection, which was in itself a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeSkiVa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Good recipe. I used four chicken breasts (seasoned well with salt and pepper) but kept the rest of the ingredients as written for eight servings. I intentionally made alot so that we would have leftovers to wrap in tortillas with guacamole and cheese the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! The chicken was very tender, and the rice mixture was so good! I was surpised at how spicy it was since the only thing really spicy in the ingredients was the cayenne pepper. My husband and I both loved it. The only changes I made was using an orange pepper instead of a red one since that's what I had on hand, and using instant white rice rather than yellow. I plan to make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milford, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Totally delicious! Fiancee went back for seconds. He said it was 'totally awesome'. I only used two chicken breast halves, cut into bite size pieces. I also only used 1/2 cup frozen corn. Other than that I followed the recipe as is. This does make a ton of food though. Be prepared for leftovers unless you're a family of 6 good eaters. We're planning on putting this in tortillas with salsa tomorrow. Excellent easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
The recipe smelled wonderful until I added the beans. The chicken lacked flavor. Overall, I would recommend adding more of your personal favorite seasonings. The taste was almost bland, despite all the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
My brother and I cooked this last night for our parents and it was DELICIOUS! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly except for exchanging green pepper for red since that's what we already had around. The cilantro and the green chilies really gave it a wonderful flavor. It was so easy to make, even a total novice chef like me didn't mess it up! I am totally going to make this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is fabulous! Made it for dinner tonight, with a few changes, and it is a new family favorite. Very easy 1 skillet recipe! I agree with those who cubed chicken for easy cooking/serving. We didn't have the exact ingredients, and wanted to halve the recipe, so we used corn with peppers/Mexicorn, diced tomatoes with jalapeno (for a little kick), no green chiles, just 1 can of black beans, and 2 very large chicken breasts. This fed 2 adults 2 servings, and we have just under half left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow - This recipe is awesomely yummy! I made a few changes like adding 1/2 pkg Pace taco seasoning into the flour the chicken is dredged in (I also put a little into the rice mixture), only used 1 can black beans (this is to compromise with my non-bean loving husband) and cutting back on the tomatoes (for my non-tomato loving daughter). I used white basmati rice instead of the rice mix. I served with a little grated Colby-Jack melted on top. Thanks so much for this recipe, I'd give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States