Cilantro Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My husband absolutely loved this! So flavorful -- and easy to make. The only change I made was to use leftover rice, which I added just in the last few minutes, long enough to get heated through. Oh, and I added the cilantro right at the end too, rather than have it cook for 30 min. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was pretty good. I cut everything in half and didn't add the pinto beans or the chile peppers. I think I would use white rice next time or something. The yellow rice turned out crunchy for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
We made this dish last night -- very good. Makes a lot of food, so will have plenty of leftovers for the week! The only changes we did were: 1) added some taco seasoning to the flour mixture (as suggested by others) and 2) used wheat rice instead of yellow rice ----> had to cook an additional 20 minutes for the wheat rice to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellente! Best thing Ive cooked in a while. I used chipotle instead of chile peppers. Might be the best thing Ive ever cooked. Well balanced and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I stumbled upong this recipe over 2 years ago, when I was required to make something using cilantro for a party. My variations are the following: 1) cook the chicken in olive oil (more simpler) 2) cutting the chicken into smaller pieces, rather than one whole chicken breast. 3) use smaller amount of garlic 4)squeeze a fresh lime into it(makes it perfect) or serve with fresh slices of limes (for everyone to add their own)!!! 5) Either eat with a fork or put it into a tortilla for a yummy wrap. I've remade this recipe many times over the past 2 years and my family loves it!! So glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Not worth remaking. This is one of the first times I haven't tinkered with a recipe and it was the wrong time to do so. It makes alot of food - I used three large chicken breasts sliced into 8 cutlets, plus I had 3 random chicken legs. I am hoping my family will eat the leftovers as burritos with some cheese and sour cream. Might make it worthwhile?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought the recipe was very easy to make and good...but I couldn't help thinking that there was something missing. I haven't quite pinpointed what could be added to give it that extra "yum" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Before I mention how delicious this recipe is, a word about yellow rice. Here in Florida, yellow rice is almost a staple, but if you can't find it, just mix some saffron or saffron seasoning to the dry rice -- there is your yellow rice. I always have to thank the reviewers. Based on their suggestions I seasoned the chicken with Beau Monde, salt and pepper and garlic, and cut the chicken into pieces after browning, and didn't dredge the chicken in flour. I omitted the cayenne; we like spice, but it doesn't like us. I also added cumin and a small amount of curry powder. I used a trinity mix from Publix (onion, green peppers and celery) instead of just chopped onions. I think they call that the "holy trinity" in Louisiana cooking. Wonderful! I listed it as a favorite in my database.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made this dish a few days ago and it was fantastic! A huge hit! I made a few minor changes to suit the items that I had on hand, but for the most part I followed the cooking method exactly. Changes I made, that still tasted wonderful, were: I used white rice, diced tomatoes with chili's in them, all pinto beans (did not have black beans), and dried cilantro (which I added extra of since it was dried). I used Indian cayanne rather than just regular cayanne, and it had a nice kick of spice to it. Before serving I grated a little Asiago cheese on top. We all went back for seconds!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
since having a baby, i am a big fan of 1 pan meals. this large recipe is great for leftovers or freezing & reheating. i omitted the flour, substituted brown rice & frozen corn, & did not drain any of the canned ingredients & it turned out great. i would recommend adding your own personal seasonings to give a little more flavor. next time, i may save 1/2 of the cilantro (i used a whole bunch) to add at the end for a bit of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States