Cilantro Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
really yummy and a great way to use all that leftover cilantro. i just used one can on black beans per husband's request and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was quick and easy, and a nice recipe to have because I usually have all of these ingredients on hand. I added a little cumin for a Mexican taste. I couldn't taste the cilantro in the dish though. Next time I will not cook it for 30 minutes, but rather just stir it in before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We really enjoyed this yummy recipe. I used the meat from one rotisserie chicken. We had it for lunch, and had enough left over for dinner, but jazzed it up a bit. My mom used what was left to fill ten large tortillas, rolled them up, then poured a can of Progresso cheesy chicken soup over it, baked it, and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have never tried a top stove type of chicken and rice dish, and all I can say is, "WOW!" The seasoning is excellent, and my husband said it tastes just like something his hispanic grandmother used to make (high praise indeed). Since we have younger kids I used the green chiles, but jalepenos would have been good in this, too. I omitted one can of the tomatoes (only used one 14 oz can), and I'm glad I did. The rice seemed like it was going to be too soupy, but it was fine once it cooled off and rested a bit. I think one more can would have been too much. I think next time I may go ahead and add the second can, but maybe offset that with a handful of minute rice in the dish. This will now be a staple dish in our home. Great convenience in that it's a one pan meal, served with a little dollop of sour cream and sliced avocado, yet offers great taste, and leftovers! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great recipe. I adjust as many others did and omit the flour and cut up the chicken into bite size pieces, also use green peppers because that is what I have most of the time. We like spicy so I usually add a few jalapeno peppers. My husband is not much of a chicken person normally, (and before this dish said he didn't like black beans) but he loves cilantro and garlic which is why I tried this. He now will tell me if it has been too long since I made this dish, which is why I am making it again for dinner tonight. Distinctive flavors and definitely makes a ton of food, which is great since it is just as good if not even better the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very good, but next time I'll go w/ my gut (or orig. recipe) and skip subbing brown rice for yellow. We were SO impatient to eat (smelled so divine!) and brown rice just takes foreeeeeever to cook. It definitely needs a big heaping handful of cilantro b4 serving, b/c putting the cilantro in during the simmer kinda tames the flavor, and I cilantro. I also skipped the flouring of the chicken and instead did a quick marinade in Trader Joe's black pepper sauce, for the win! Halved the recipe for me, husband, and toddler, and we still had leftovers, so I'm glad that I only went w/ a 15 oz. can diced tomatoes, 1 can Mexi-corn, and 1 can Kidney Beans. Great recipe that I can't wait to do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Nicole Gilbert
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I didn't add the corn or beans... and I used regular tomatoes instead of stewed. Great turnout. I will be eating the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Gilbert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eaton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This is crazy good! I strongly suggest using a ceramic or enameled stoneware for this - really gets the flavors going. I used brown rice for a healthier twist - just add an extra 1/2 cup or so of water and let it simmer for a good hour+. I used six chicken thighs on the bone (I did dredge in flour and brown - note, 2 T of oil is plenty) and one fresh jalapeno pepper in place of the canned chiles. For color, I chose a yellow pepper instead of red (I figured the red would come from the tomatoes). If possible, use two fresh ears of corn instead of canned --I grilled them until they were slighty charred and tender and then cut off of the cob--the corn was sweet and crunchy and really dressed up the dish. Top with fresh slices of avocado and you've got yourself a superb meal--delicious, healthy, very satisfying, low cost to make, and one pot for easy cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Very nice recipe. Just used regular white rice with turmeric to make yellow rice. The 2nd time I made it with brown rice and crushed tomatoes, very good also and cooked it in the rice cooker. I just sauteed the onion, garlic and bell pepper in a little bit of olive oil in a regular pot, and then added that to the rice cooker along with the other ingredients. I boiled chicken and cubed it instead of frying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This dish was exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States