Cider Vinegar Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This was really good and I didn't feel the vinegar was overpowering at all. I did make some changes based on my BFF who uses a very similar recipe. I seasoned my meat with all-purpose seasoning, topped with red pepper flakes, and added some water. Additionally, at the end, I browned the meat under the broiler then removed the meat from the pan. I placed the pan on top of the stove, brought to a boil, added 1/3 c brown sugar and thickened the sauce with Wondra gravy mix. Outstanding and even better the next day for lunch! I only gave 4 stars based on my additions (even though the recipe as written is a good base recipe) and the cooking time written. Thirty-five minutes at 350 degrees wasn't nearly enough time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I am a big fan of vinegar, but I have to admit that this really didn't sound very good when I read the recipe. However, because it looked very easy (and it was), I gave it a shot. The final product confirmed my suspicion. (I wish tht I had seen the suggestion to use the chicken in a sandwich or salad--with some other flavors, this wouldn't be a waste.) I really am shocked by the sheer number of glowing reviews for this. Never again for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
VERY surprising recipe...I decided to try this against my wife's protest that it was going to be dry, or vinegary and it was NEITHER. I used bone in chicken breats (7) and this recipe was delicious enough for me to make monthly. My finicky children also said to give this a 5 start rating- and that's something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Made this exactly as written and my husband loved it - wanted to know what was in it, and was amazed when I told him. I'll be making this a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is great! Made in the crockpot and it shredded-it was like pork BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn O'Keefe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was...unique. It's kind of a funky flavor, not bad, but probably not something that I would make very often. There's a very vinegar tang to the chicken, and I think it would mellow out nicely with an apple salad or something else that would take out a little of the acidity. *I found out the next day that these are really good for chicken sandwiches; a little mayo, a little toast, and I actually enjoyed it more than I did fresh from the oven.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Simple and tasty - a new twist to the chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Flavorful, simple, and a healthy dinner option. My fiance and I really enjoy this recipe. Great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved this dish! The chicken breasts we used were frozen and re-thawed and the chicken STILL was so moist all the way through. I didn't think the vinegar was at all overpowering.. Can't wait to make this again with potatoes in the vinegar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecorneliusclan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
If you like salt and vinegar potato chips, you'll like this chicken. It reminds me of a dish my grandmother prepared that I have never been able to replicate. She used pork and sauerkraut. As suggested by another reviewer, I cut the vinegar with 1/4 cup water and I used a whole roaster, cut up. I think fat enhances the flavor of the juice, and a whole, skin-on chicken provides that. I would definitely like to try this in the Crockpot, using sauerkraut plus 3/4 cup vinegar & 1/4 cup white wine, some crushed red pepper, and a whole cut up chicken. This is delicious. It is warming and homey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States