Cider Baked Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
For the novice squash baker, the directions on how to prepare the squash prior to baking are a little vague in this recipe. I find it easiest to halve the squash, scoop out the pulp and seeds, then cut into desired size. Since raw squash is so firm, I leave it unpeeled in halves or quarters because it's easiest to remove the skins once baked -- they just peel right off. I chose to quarter the squash for this recipe, placing it on a parchment-lined sheet pan before adding the cider, a sprinkle of brown sugar (Splenda blend) and spices (swapped nutmeg for the mace). The squash baked uncovered in a 375 oven and was spoon-tender after 45 min. A very welcome change from the usual butter-laden recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I just prepared this tonight for friend's that were dining with us and we ALL loved it, even my picky kiddos! It smelled like apple pie, but tasted like Candied Sweet Potatoes! So yummy! The only changes I made were I used Pumpkin Pie spice instead of just the cinnamon and mace. And I peeled and cubed the squash. All in all a great recipe!! This will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
We made this for a party, but no one knew how to cut the skins off without mashing the squash! Very tasty but next time I'll peel the squash before cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
These turned out wonderful! The flavor of the squash and spices was amazing. I didn't have mace so I used nutmeg instead. I would make extra of the spice mix because it is so good. Also, pour the cider over the squash, and then the spices, or you are just washing them off. I used a pastry brush to baste the squash a couple of times while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Heavenly! The mace added something really special to the squash. Can't wait to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Really good - mine looked a little more dried out than the picture. My husband really liked it and our house smelled great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Good. Company enjoyed it. A nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
This was very good. The instructions are not very detailed but squash is very easily removed from the skin and should be soft and mushy when done. I added quite a bit more brown sugar than called for and apple juice worked just fine. This was just like my Mom used to make when I was little. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I tried this and loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States