Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This is one of the best bread recipes out there! Just made it last night with homemade lasagna and it tasted like fancy store bought! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AOSWALT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Craig, Missouri, USA
Living In: Burr, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These were delicious and not difficult to make. Yes, the recipe takes quite a while. I let my sponge sit about 14 hours before beginning the bread. I left one loaf plain and sprinkled one with a mixture of parm and garlic. I finally used my pizza stone for this recipe. It wasn't big enough for both loaves, so I also used a preheated airbake cookie sheet and switched the loaves halfway through. My husband ate most of one loaf with dinner. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was great! I made the starter about 14 hours before mixing with remaining ingredients. The flavor was outstanding! I did 2 loaves, one with garlic and parmesan on top, the other plain. Both were a hit! This is real ciabatta and it is great! note: I didn't use a stone, but I baked it at 425 for 18 minutes and it was beautifully done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Wonderful! Just let it raise on the baking sheet; as I don't have a stone; and found the first time I'd tried to make this; sliding it onto a preheated baking tray deflated the loaves a bit. Spritzed it with water a good few times while baking (about 4-5); tried it in muffin tins as 'rolls', did baguettes; as well as a full sized loaf; hubby's eaten nearly the full sized loaf all by himself - will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This recipe made a really delicious bread that I will definitely be making again. I do not have a baking stone, so I used the method I use for pizza - simply pre-heat a baking sheet and use the parchment paper to move the dough across. I am used to ciabatta with a more sour flavour, so next time I will let the starter sit longer and maybe in a warmer place. We had this with homemade pesto spread on it and the traditional olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Wonderful! I made 1 big loaf out of the recipe so I could make sandwiches. I have never tried making ciabatta before and this recipe couldn't have turned out better. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I have fallen in love with making bread these past few months, and this is the best recipe I have have found, by far. I have made at least 12 loaves with this, and every time I make it, my roommates/friends devour it instantly. I have modified it a little, though. I found the original recipe to be too dry for my tastes when it came out of the over, so I tripled the olive oil, and it came out moist and delicious. Add more oil to the recipe and you're in great shape. I love this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this today,using all ap flour and gave the starter/sponge about 7-8 hours, used a tad bit more water. It turned out pretty good, my friends, hubby and brothers polished off almost a whole loaf within 10 minutes of being out of the oven. I omited the baking stone/parchment step. after the first rise i transfered the dough to an oiled 10 x 10 pampered chef stone baking pan and let it rise again before baking. Next time i think i will give starter/sponge much more time for more of that tangy flavour. I've already got my second sponge started! Thanks for a great recipe!Can't wait to try it with stews and soups! update: turned out better second time around-gave starter 15 hours. Dough was stickier which attributed to more of that holey ciabatta texture. Also had a more developed tangy hint. Perfect for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
WOW !!! I am not bread maker, but my family sure thought I was. What a great texture inside and out. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesignodeguy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was a great recipe! I'm never very exact with the flour measurement for bread recipes, for this recipe simple add flour until the dough is sticky, but pulls from the side of the bowl. Also, I added an extra tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil - just for flavor, as well as an extra teaspoon of salt. I've tried this recipe with garlic powder, and whenever I do that I press a sprig of rosemary onto the top. That always wows the guests :). Also, I didn't have a baking stone at the time (I usually use a ceramic unglazed tile that costs about 45 cents!) so I simple baked it on a barely-oiled cookie sheet. It worked just fine! I just had to remember to remove it from the pan and place it on a rack once I got it from the oven, otherwise the bottom sogs up. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States