Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Great recipe. Wasn't sure how thick the starter was meant to be, but it all turned out well. So pleased there are 2 loaves! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Wonderful flavor and texture. I've made this twice this week, trying to duplicate a commercial ciabatta bun but I'm not getting the shape right as this dough is sticky to work with! I'll be making it one more time as I think I've got it figured out. Meanwhile we love this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Excellent! My husband loved the flavor. I followed the recipe alomost exactly except I kneaded the sponge in the bowl for 4 minutes instead of stirring and I used 1 cup of white whole wheat flour. Came out looking exactly picture and tasting great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
WOW, this is an EXCELLENT recipe. Taste even better than the delicious Ciabatta bread that you'd get from professional bakeries. It was chewy and delicious and the crust was magnificent. I followed the recipe to a T except i doubled the salt, e.g. 3 tsp. It was way too much and made the bread very salty ( which i don't mind coz i love salt but i do not recommend anyone else doing so). Also, it IS a very sticky dough. To make ti easier, i used my bread machine, dough selection to do the kneading. 8 minute is no where near enough to create the nooks and cranny in the bread. I let my dough knead for 30 minutes! Also, i didnt have parchment paper, so after the 1st rising, i just split the dough onto 2 pan with aluminum foiled sprayed with cookign spray, did hte 2nd rising then popped it straight into my toaster oven. VOILA, it is so so good and it comes out perfect. since my bread is over salty already, i will be making avacado/tomato/arugala sandwich with mine and no salt needed! thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The taste was fantastic, but the heat was too high! Idk, i smelled it starting to burn halfway through. I moved it up to the middle rack at that point, but I still was way overdone on the bottom. The taste was so delicious tho that I'm starting over today. I'm definitely going to top it with fresh herbs (rosemary & thyme) today after I separate the dough, and let it 'rise into' the herbs before baking. Great recipe, just be careful of the high heat in the bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Ok this bread is VERY good -in fact I'm still eating on it! Does have a little bit of a sourdough taste , slightly chewy but not dry. However I was taken aback by how runny the dough was. I was expecting a wet dough but it was more like batter! - I did add 2 Tablespoons of olive oil, not one. Had to work some flour into it to even move it on to the baking pan, picked it up with my scraper and kind of plopped it down. No shaping needed! Baked at 425 for 20 min. and though it was rather pale golden - it was done. I'm going to give it 5 stars because it seemed to be rather forgiving -as I did add more yeast than called for, and it is NO knead which is great, and it does taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Made it exactly as written (excepted baked on a Silpat slid onto a baking stone). If you're used to handling "normal" yeast dough, this is a little tricky to deal with since it's not kneaded to an elastic state. Use flour generously. Whatever you do, do NOT skimp on the salt. The salt is what makes this dough manageable, such as it is. You'll have a huge gooey mess if you don't add enough salt. You will love the results! Reminds me a bit of those fresh Tuscan loaves from Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wainblatrobert
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe although I feel like the recipe needs more salt. I wish the oven spring would've been bigger, the loaves ended up being wider than expected. Otherwise the crust was great and the bread tasty. I added rosemary and thyme to one of the loaves and it was yummy. Had some friends over and devoured both loaves with some olive oil, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tavegas
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
My first try at making bread other than in the breadmaker and this is a winner! worth the time it takes. anyone ever try freezing this ? would be nice to bake a bunch and save some for when you don't have time to start from scratch. Geat recipe!, Thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
lovely. it was hard not to eat it all in one sitting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States