Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I just made the sponge and it seams awful dry to me. I thought sponge was suppose to be a thick creamy consistancy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
There is definitely not enough yeast in this recipe. Neither the sponge I made on the first day nor the bread itself rose very much. It was tasty enough, but the loaves were very flat and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Everything went on perfectly, even though it was the first time trying this recipe. Follow all the instructions and you'll get a lovely ciabatta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Bread was pretty flat, but tasted pretty good. 45 minutes was way too long to heat the stone at 425 degrees - 10 would likely have been fine. Takes a long time to make with the sponge and rising times, so prior planning is necessary. Perhaps a bit more yeast and flour and a warmer kitchen! would also have helped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. I let the starter sit for 24 hours instead of 12 hoping for a better flavor, but was disappointed. It's good bread, but no better than a loaf I can make in 3 hours. I'll be trying a real sourdough next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Great recipe. Wasn't sure how thick the starter was meant to be, but it all turned out well. So pleased there are 2 loaves! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Wonderful flavor and texture. I've made this twice this week, trying to duplicate a commercial ciabatta bun but I'm not getting the shape right as this dough is sticky to work with! I'll be making it one more time as I think I've got it figured out. Meanwhile we love this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Excellent! My husband loved the flavor. I followed the recipe alomost exactly except I kneaded the sponge in the bowl for 4 minutes instead of stirring and I used 1 cup of white whole wheat flour. Came out looking exactly picture and tasting great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
WOW, this is an EXCELLENT recipe. Taste even better than the delicious Ciabatta bread that you'd get from professional bakeries. It was chewy and delicious and the crust was magnificent. I followed the recipe to a T except i doubled the salt, e.g. 3 tsp. It was way too much and made the bread very salty ( which i don't mind coz i love salt but i do not recommend anyone else doing so). Also, it IS a very sticky dough. To make ti easier, i used my bread machine, dough selection to do the kneading. 8 minute is no where near enough to create the nooks and cranny in the bread. I let my dough knead for 30 minutes! Also, i didnt have parchment paper, so after the 1st rising, i just split the dough onto 2 pan with aluminum foiled sprayed with cookign spray, did hte 2nd rising then popped it straight into my toaster oven. VOILA, it is so so good and it comes out perfect. since my bread is over salty already, i will be making avacado/tomato/arugala sandwich with mine and no salt needed! thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The taste was fantastic, but the heat was too high! Idk, i smelled it starting to burn halfway through. I moved it up to the middle rack at that point, but I still was way overdone on the bottom. The taste was so delicious tho that I'm starting over today. I'm definitely going to top it with fresh herbs (rosemary & thyme) today after I separate the dough, and let it 'rise into' the herbs before baking. Great recipe, just be careful of the high heat in the bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States