Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made this with freshly ground 100% whole wheat flour and it wasn't heavy at all. I didn't have time to "babysit" it, so it had way more than 2 hours on the last rise. Really good with a nice thick crust! Will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This bread is wonderful. Wonderful yeast flavor and soft as silk bread. I ended up putting it in my bread machine to do the kneading. Definately a repeat recipe and good enough to make for a gift. Love it. I don't have a stone but just set it to rise on the cookie sheet prepared with corn meal as suggested on another post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This bread did not turn out for me I followed the recipe exactly and it barely rose at all. I might give it one more try in case I made an error but I definitely wouldn't be recommending it as of now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this exactly as written. It was a very flavorful, crusty, dense bread that was devoured quickly. It does take a little bit of planning to make this, but the hands on time was minimal. It baked up pretty much the same shape it went into the oven, so if it goes in flat, it will come out flat. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter. The taste is great and the crust super yummy. The only downside is I didn't get the big bubbles inside like I had hoped. It is humid and raining today maybe that has something to do with it. Not the most simplistic of recipes but hopefully it will seem easier the more I make it. This would have gotten 5 stars had it risen better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleAudiophile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I just made the sponge and it seams awful dry to me. I thought sponge was suppose to be a thick creamy consistancy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
There is definitely not enough yeast in this recipe. Neither the sponge I made on the first day nor the bread itself rose very much. It was tasty enough, but the loaves were very flat and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Everything went on perfectly, even though it was the first time trying this recipe. Follow all the instructions and you'll get a lovely ciabatta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Bread was pretty flat, but tasted pretty good. 45 minutes was way too long to heat the stone at 425 degrees - 10 would likely have been fine. Takes a long time to make with the sponge and rising times, so prior planning is necessary. Perhaps a bit more yeast and flour and a warmer kitchen! would also have helped it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. I let the starter sit for 24 hours instead of 12 hoping for a better flavor, but was disappointed. It's good bread, but no better than a loaf I can make in 3 hours. I'll be trying a real sourdough next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States