Ciabatta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I took the time to prepare as directed. I let the sponge sit for 24 hours. It didn't taste too sour. I doubled the recipe. It is a good thing I put at least one in the freezer because the other three are gone after only 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This came out so great!! I made it all by hand (thanks for the how-tos y'all) and shaped it into a round loaf. Yummy, yummy and super easy :) My family was duly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Good bread. I added 1 tsp of sugar to give the yeast something to snack on. I do not have a fancy mixer with the dough hook and could not knead by hand (too sticky), so I stirred it with a regular teaspoon end over end and high as if my spoon was like a ferris wheel. The dough travelled up till my thumb was covered but I did not stop or put the spoon down while I was stirring. The texture changed to elastic at about 15 minutes and I could draw the dough up about 8 inches without it stretching too far and breaking. No parchment paper either, so the next rising was done in those small foil loaf pans. After it was done I painted the top with real butter and sprinkled with pretzel salt. It was nice and light, but mine was fine textured instead of having the swiss cheese-like holes throughout. What is called a "sponge" in the recipe is called sour-dough starter by us down here in rural northern florida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I have attempted my first try ~ I am waiting for mixture to rise in bowl ~ its taking a long time to rise ~ but thats ok ~ it is rising ~ its a cold day here in Aotearoa ~ [New Zealand] ~ great to be able to read others comments ~ like ~ leaving sponge in fridge ~ take some sponge out for another starter ~ add more oil ~ shall get around to reading more ~ I shall come back another day and let you know how I get on. I always use 'latex free' gloves ~ they are great when handling dough. Thank you all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BuddhaDude
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Made the recipe yesterday, when I split the dough in two, the first one I made as directed, the second one I stretched into a pizza; Ciabatta Pizza! The bread loaf was very good, but everyone thought the pizza was the best ever. I will definitely make this again, especially making it into a pizza crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BuddhaDude

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I made this with freshly ground 100% whole wheat flour and it wasn't heavy at all. I didn't have time to "babysit" it, so it had way more than 2 hours on the last rise. Really good with a nice thick crust! Will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This bread is wonderful. Wonderful yeast flavor and soft as silk bread. I ended up putting it in my bread machine to do the kneading. Definately a repeat recipe and good enough to make for a gift. Love it. I don't have a stone but just set it to rise on the cookie sheet prepared with corn meal as suggested on another post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This bread did not turn out for me I followed the recipe exactly and it barely rose at all. I might give it one more try in case I made an error but I definitely wouldn't be recommending it as of now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this exactly as written. It was a very flavorful, crusty, dense bread that was devoured quickly. It does take a little bit of planning to make this, but the hands on time was minimal. It baked up pretty much the same shape it went into the oven, so if it goes in flat, it will come out flat. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter. The taste is great and the crust super yummy. The only downside is I didn't get the big bubbles inside like I had hoped. It is humid and raining today maybe that has something to do with it. Not the most simplistic of recipes but hopefully it will seem easier the more I make it. This would have gotten 5 stars had it risen better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelleAudiophile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Ciabatta Sandwich

Loaded with salami, cheese, onions, peppers, and topped with mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States